Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Chemistry and Physics of Soft Materials

Abstract

Soft materials are a broad class of materials that includes polymers, colloids, foams, gels, biological tissue and many other forms of matter that have both solid and liquid properties at the same time. Soft materials are ubiquitous in everyday life and are important for many industries. In addition to the traditional materials sector, the medical, pharmaceutical and food industries also depend on soft materials and therefore also require professionals with specific training in this domain.
Soft matter science is an interdisciplinary domain, bridging chemistry, physics, biology and materials science and engineering. Anchored at the Adolphe Merkle Institute, the University of Fribourg's new programme leading to the Specialised Master of Science in Chemistry and Physics of Soft Materials (MScSoft) is intellectually stimulating and provides a unique basis for excellent employment opportunities.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Specialised Master of Science in Chemistry and Physics of Soft Materials (MScSoft) targets creative, open-minded and broadly interested talents who would like to build their professional careers on such materials. Normally, students will have already earned a Bachelor's or Master's degree in Chemistry, Physics, Materials Science, or a closely related discipline. As the programme is taught in English, adequate knowledge of this language is required.

Motivation
Soft materials are a broad class of materials that includes polymers, colloids, foams, gels, biological tissue and many other forms of matter that have both solid and liquid properties at the same time. Soft Materials are ubiquitous in everyday life and are important for many industries. In addition to the traditional materials sector, the medical, pharmaceutical and food industries also depend on soft materials and therefore also require professionals with specific training in this domain.

Objectives
The aim of the programme leading to the Specialised Master of Science in Chemistry and Physics of Soft Materials (MScSoft) is for students to deepen their knowledge and perfect their skills in the interdisciplinary field of soft materials science and at the same time adopt English as a working language. Unlike other Master programmes in materials science that cover the classical broad palette of materials ranging from metals to ceramics, the MScSoft focuses on the physical, chemical and biological aspects of soft matter, including polymers, colloids, foams, gels, granular materials, liquid crystals and biological materials. Furthermore, basic aspects of the bio-materials interface will be addressed.

This interdisciplinary programme is based on core competences of the Faculty of Science of the University of Fribourg in the domain of soft materials. The programme is anchored at the Adolphe Merkle Institute (AMI), an interdisciplinary center of competence that is internationally recognized for its cutting-edge research and education in the domain of soft nanomaterials. The curriculum is taught by eminent scholars from the AMI and other departments of the Faculty of Science, and draws on the resources of several interdisciplinary networks, most notably the Swiss National Center of Competence in Research Bio-Inspired Materials and the Fribourg Center for Nanomaterials.
Students will develop a fundamental understanding of the synthesis, processing and characterization of soft (nano-)materials, their structure-property relations as well as aspects that are relevant for technological applications in different sectors, including the materials industry, consumer products (food, cosmetics, pharma) and medicine. The coursework is complemented by a substantial amount of laboratory classes, short projects and an interdisciplinary Master's project, all of which are integrated with the research activities of the Adolphe Merkle Institute and will provide students with meaningful hands-on experiences and exceptional practical skills. The technical training is supplemented by curricular elements that lead towards proficiency in scientific English, address ethical aspects, cover important complementary elements such as innovation and technology transfer and advance students' soft skills.

The Specialised Master's programme consists of three semesters of formal lectures, exercise classes, projects, seminars and an interdisciplinary project that lasts around eight months and concludes with the Master's thesis. The combination of a core curriculum and a substantial number of elective courses, along with the significant practical training, guarantees an interdisciplinary curriculum that also permits students to deepen disciplinary knowledge, and fosters students' ability to work in teams to solve complex problems.

The different teaching units are as follows:

  • Lectures that give a formal introduction to the scientific methods in chemistry, physics and biology and advanced scientific thinking. They help in acquiring basic knowledge and understanding fundamental concepts;
  • Exercise classes that complement the lectures and provide essential help in understanding and practical application of a lecture's content. Students will practice and apply the acquired principles and techniques;
  • Laboratory work, experimental or theoretical, is the basis of scientific research. It provides a controlled environment for hands-on realisation of measurements or chemical syntheses. It is during this work that students will encounter many of the laboratory procedures and instruments used in research and learn good practices;
  • Seminar presentations that are used to expand the students' knowledge in specialised domains less covered by the formal courses as well as to nurture the development of oral presentation skills for scientific results;
  • Student projects that are a first step in applying the skills learned in the lectures and exercise classes to real research problems;
  • The preparation of the Master's thesis, under the supervision of an experienced researcher, is the actual starting point of scientific research.

The programme is taught in English. All exams and written work (project reports, Master's thesis etc.) will be in English.

Academic and career openings
The Specialised Master of Science in Chemistry and Physics of Soft Materials (MScSoft) is not only intellectually stimulating, but it also provides a basis for excellent employment opportunities in a wide range of industries as well as the ability to pursue an academic career with a Ph.D. Potential employers include the chemical, pharmaceutical and food industries and companies supplying services to these industries in terms of equipment, measurement and analysis, research and regulation.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Chimie et physique de la matière molle

Résumé

La matière molle, qui allie des propriétés solides et liquides, englobe une vaste catégorie de matériaux qui regroupe, entre autres, les polymères, les colloïdes, les mousses, les gels et les tissus biologiques. Très répandus dans la vie courante, ces matériaux jouent également un rôle important dans de nombreuses industries. Outre le secteur dédié, la médecine, la pharmacie et l'agroalimentaire dépendent aussi de la matière molle et ont donc besoin de professionnels spécialement formés à ce domaine.
Au carrefour de la chimie, de la physique, de la biologie, de la science des matériaux et de l'ingénierie, la science de la matière molle est interdisciplinaire. Le nouveau programme de l'Université de Fribourg, rattaché à l'Institut Adolphe Merkle (AMI) et sanctionné par un Master of Science spécialisé en chimie et physique de la matière molle (MScSoft), est stimulant sur le plan intellectuel et constitue une formation unique offrant d'excellentes perspectives d'emploi.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le Master of Science spécialisé en chimie et physique de la matière molle (MScSoft) s'adresse à des étudiantes et étudiants créatifs, à l'esprit ouvert et aux centres d'intérêt variés, qui souhaitent faire carrière dans ce domaine. Ils doivent normalement être titulaires d'un Bachelor ou d'un Master en chimie, physique, science des matériaux ou toute autre discipline associée. Le programme étant dispensé en anglais, une bonne connaissance de cette langue est en outre requise.

Aspects fondamentaux
La matière molle, qui allie des propriétés solides et liquides, englobe une vaste catégorie de matériaux qui regroupe, entre autres, les polymères, les colloïdes, les mousses, les gels et les tissus biologiques. Très répandus dans la vie courante, ces matériaux jouent également un rôle important dans de nombreuses industries. Outre le secteur dédié, la médecine, la pharmacie et l'agroalimentaire dépendent aussi de la matière molle et ont donc besoin de professionnels spécialement formés à ce domaine.

Objectifs pédagogiques
Le programme, sanctionné par un Master of Science spécialisé en chimie et physique de la matière molle (MScSoft), permet aux étudiantes et étudiants d'approfondir leurs connaissances et d'affiner leurs compétences dans le domaine interdisciplinaire de la science de la matière molle, tout en apprivoisant l'anglais comme langue de travail. Alors que d'autres programmes de Master en science des matériaux couvrent tout l'éventail classique des matériaux, des métaux aux céramiques, le MScSoft se concentre sur les propriétés physiques, chimiques et biologiques de la matière molle, dont les polymères, les colloïdes, les mousses, les gels, les matériaux granulaires, les cristaux liquides et les matières biologiques. Il aborde aussi les aspects fondamentaux des biomatériaux.

Ce programme interdisciplinaire fait appel aux compétences clés de la Faculté des sciences de l'Université de Fribourg dans le domaine de la matière molle. Il est rattaché à l'Institut Adolphe Merkle (AMI), centre de compétences interdisciplinaire dont les activités de recherche et d'enseignement en nanomatériaux mous sont réputées dans le monde entier. Les cours sont dispensés par d'éminents professeurs de l'AMI et d'autres départements de la Faculté des sciences et puisent dans les ressources de plusieurs réseaux interdisciplinaires, en particulier celles du Centre national de compétences pour les matériaux intelligents bio-inspirés et du Fribourg Center for Nanomaterials (FRIMAT).
Les étudiantes et étudiants pourront acquérir une compréhension générale de la synthèse, de la transformation et des caractéristiques des (nano)matériaux mous, des liens entre leur structure et leurs propriétés, et d'autres aspects intéressants en vue d'applications technologiques dans différents secteurs, dont l'industrie des matériaux, des biens de consommation (industries alimentaire, cosmétique et pharmaceutique) et la médecine. Une large part de l'enseignement prend en outre la forme de travaux en laboratoire, de brefs projets et d'un travail de Master interdisciplinaire, tous étroitement liés aux activités de recherche de l'AMI. Autant d'expériences concrètes et constructives qui conféreront aux étudiantes et étudiants des aptitudes pratiques exceptionnelles. En plus de la formation technique, des modules complémentaires sont consacrés au perfectionnement en anglais scientifique, aux questions éthiques, à d'autres thèmes importants comme l'innovation et le transfert de technologie, ainsi qu'au développement de compétences plus générales.

Ce programme de Master spécialisé comprend trois semestres de cours magistraux, d'exercices, de projets et de séminaires, ainsi qu'un projet interdisciplinaire qui s'étend sur environ huit mois. Il s'achève par la réalisation du travail de Master. La combinaison d'un tronc commun avec de nombreux cours optionnels, mais aussi l'importance significative accordée à la formation pratique, garantissent aux étudiantes et étudiants un cursus interdisciplinaire qui leur permet également d'approfondir leurs connaissances spécialisées et de s'exercer à la résolution de problèmes complexes en équipe.

Les unités d'enseignement suivantes sont proposées:

  • Cours magistraux constituant une introduction théorique aux méthodes scientifiques utilisées en chimie, en physique et en biologie, ainsi qu'au raisonnement scientifique plus élaboré. Ces cours permettent aux étudiants d'acquérir des connaissances de base et de comprendre les concepts fondamentaux;
  • Exercices conçus en complément des cours magistraux, qui fournissent une aide indispensable à la compréhension et à l'application pratique du contenu des cours. Ils sont l'occasion de mettre en application les techniques et les principes théoriques acquis;
  • Travail en laboratoire, expérimental ou théorique, qui est à la base de toute démarche scientifique. Il consiste à reproduire concrètement des mesures ou des synthèses chimiques dans un environnement contrôlé. En laboratoire, les étudiants se familiarisent avec de nombreux instruments et avec les procédures de recherche. Ils apprennent en outre les bonnes pratiques;
  • Exposés destinés à enrichir les connaissances des étudiantes et étudiants dans d'autres domaines spécialisés, peu abordés dans le cadre des cours magistraux, et à développer les techniques de présentation de résultats scientifiques;
  • Projets d'étudiants constituant une première étape de l'application des connaissances acquises en cours et lors des ateliers pratiques à de véritables sujets de recherche;
  • Préparation du travail de Master, sous la supervision d'un chercheur expérimenté, qui constitue une véritable entrée en matière dans la recherche scientifique.

Le programme est dispensé en anglais. Tous les examens et les travaux écrits (rapports de projets, travail de Master, etc.) doivent être effectués en anglais.

Débouchés et perspectives professionnelles
Le Master of Science spécialisé en chimie et physique de la matière molle (MScSoft) offre non seulement une expérience stimulante sur le plan intellectuel, mais aussi d'excellentes perspectives professionnelles dans des secteurs industriels variés. Il permet également de poursuivre sa carrière universitaire jusqu'à l'obtention du doctorat. Parmi les employeurs potentiels, on peut citer les industries chimique, pharmaceutique et alimentaire, ainsi que leurs prestataires de services dans le domaine des équipements, des mesures et des analyses, sans oublier la recherche et la réglementation.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS, 4 semestres

Plan d'études

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_f.php

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.