Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Ethics, Responsibility and Development

Abstract

By incorporating ethical and responsibility issues, this specialised Master's programme aims to understand, in a critical, scientific manner, the field of development in its multiple components: sustainable, social, environmental, educational, human, etc. It promotes an analytical management approach, enabling action not only in a general environment, but also and especially in accordance with the complexity of the social reality and with ethical and responsibility issues which influence the development of contemporary societies.
It is based on three learning objectives: consolidation of the foundations of theoretical work in the field of ethics and responsibility; reflection on the conditions for development that respect human beings; understanding of the implications of development on the social organisation, the life styles and the forms of solidarity.
The programme includes field experience abroad, enabling students to compare theoretical analysis and real development practice. At the end of the course, an ethics week is organised based on the students' work.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

By incorporating ethical and responsibility issues, the specialised Master's programme Ethics, Responsibility and Development aims to understand, in a critical, scientific manner, the field of development in its multiple components (sustainable, social, environmental, educational, human, solidarity economy, development aid) and to forge the conditions for a reasoned analysis of development issues crossed with ethical issues.

It is based on three learning objectives:

  1. Consolidate, in a methodical fashion, the foundations of theoretical work in the field of ethics and responsibility with a view to developing a critical approach on the basis of the specific context of development;
  2. Reflect on the conditions of development which respect human beings;
  3. Understand the implications of development experiences on social organisation, life styles and forms of solidarity by integrating ethical and responsibility issues.

It thus subscribes to the ethical objective of Paul Ricoeur: «Live well, with and for others, in just institutions».

Fribourg profile
This specialised Master's programme includes field work abroad (Brazil, Canada, Paraguay, Argentina, Mexico, Romania, Bulgaria, Tunisia, Senegal, Congo, Rwanda, etc.) enabling a comparison between theoretical analyses (ethics, responsibility and development) and real development experiences. In order to achieve this, the University works with internationally recognised theoreticians in ethics, responsibility and development, and organisations/experts in the field of development and cooperation.
The programme finishes with an «Ethics Week» based on the students' work, with exhibitions, debates, discussion-workshops, talks, etc., on the actors/experts in development and cooperation and on the City.

The programme's strong points are:

  • Development of a practical foundation to the ethical dimension, with contributions from figures in national and international agencies confronted with the application of ethical issues in the field of development;
  • Observation work on real development operations during a semester abroad;
  • On-site supervision by a partner university on a contractual basis;
  • Pursuit of the theoretical standpoint of linking ethical issues with problems in development;
  • Integration of the various dimensions of project management from design and implementation to evaluation.

Learning outcomes and career openings
In answer to the question, «how should we act?», this specialised Master's programme offers teaching that focuses on critical debate, examining ethical aspects in their full scope and complexity.

The programme thereby promotes the formation of an analytical-management approach, enabling action not simply in accordance with a general framework, but which also integrates the complexity of social reality and in particular ethical and responsibility issues which are today very much a feature of development issues (social, environmental, educational, health, technological, etc.) in contemporary societies. Such an approach is sorely needed in a context in which the ethical, social and humanistic dimensions of development are justly questioned, on a recurrent basis, by organisations, foundations and associations working in the field of development or development aid, and also by public opinion.

These studies prepare students for roles in research, counselling, programme organisation, public administration, associations with various interests, non-profit organisations active in social and humanitarian fields, consultancy firms, non-governmental organisations and (inter)national administrations. Given that current ethics and development issues are becoming increasingly complex, this programme could also be of interest to students who wish to train for management roles in the social field in the public and private sectors, in which it is often necessary to make decisions involving issues that go substantially beyond the framework of the sector.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credits in a specialisation programme, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/421D- (French only)

Comments

The number of places is limited to 25.

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.
Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss University in Social Work and Social Policy, Sociology, Socio Anthropology, Social and Human Sciences, Philosophy, Contemporary History, Human Geography, Economic Sciences, Political Sciences, International Relations, Sciences of Education and/or Special Education can be admitted to this Master's degree course without any additional requirements.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Éthique, responsabilité et développement

Résumé

Ce Master spécialisé vise, en intégrant les questions d'éthique et de responsabilité, à appréhender de manière critique et scientifique, le champ du développement dans ses multiples composantes: développement durable, social, environnemental, éducatif, humain, etc. Il promeut un profil d'analystes-intervenants capables d'agir, non seulement dans un cadre général, mais surtout selon la complexité de la réalité sociale et les enjeux éthiques et de responsabilité qui animent le développement des sociétés contemporaines.
Il repose sur trois objectifs pédagogiques: la consolidation des fondements du travail théorique dans le champ de l'éthique et de la responsabilité; la réflexion à propos des conditions d'un développement dans le respect de la personne humaine; la saisie des implications du développement sur l'organisation sociale, les modes de vie, les formes de solidarité.
Cette formation intègre une expérience de terrain qui se fait à l'étranger, permettant la confrontation des analyses théoriques avec des pratiques concrètes de développement. A la fin du cursus, une Semaine de l'éthique est organisée autour des travaux des étudiantes et des étudiants.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le Master spécialisé Ethique, responsabilité et développement vise, en intégrant les questions d'éthique et de responsabilité, à appréhender de manière critique et scientifique, le champ du développement dans ses multiples composantes (développement durable, social, environnemental, éducatif, humain, économie solidaire, aide au développement) et à forger les conditions d'une analyse raisonnée des enjeux du développement croisés aux enjeux éthiques.

Il repose sur trois objectifs pédagogiques:

  1. Etayer de façon méthodique les fondements du travail théorique dans le champ de l'éthique et de la responsabilité afin de permettre une formation à l'esprit critique à partir du cadre spécifique du développement;
  2. Réfléchir aux conditions d'un développement qui se fasse dans le respect de la personne humaine;
  3. Saisir les implications des expériences de développement sur l'organisation sociale, les modes de vie, les formes de solidarité en intégrant la question éthique et la question de la responsabilité.

Il s'inscrit ainsi dans la visée éthique de Paul Ricœur: «Vivre bien, avec et pour les autres, dans des institutions justes».

Profil fribourgeois
Ce Master spécialisé intègre dans sa formation une expérience de terrain qui se fait à l'étranger (Brésil, Canada, Paraguay, Argentine, Mexique, Roumanie, Bulgarie, Tunisie, Sénégal, Congo, Rwanda, etc.) permettant la confrontation des analyses théoriques (éthique, responsabilité et développement) avec des expériences concrètes de développement. Pour ce faire, il est fait appel à des théoriciens internationalement reconnus de l'éthique, de la responsabilité et du développement, et à des acteurs/experts du développement et de la coopération.
Il se clôt par une «semaine de l'éthique» organisée autour des travaux des étudiantes et des étudiants incluant expositions, débats, ateliers-discussion, conférences, etc. en direction des acteurs du développement et de la coopération et en direction de la Cité.

Les points forts du programme sont:

  • Donner un ancrage pratique à la dimension éthique grâce à des apports d'acteurs appartenant à des organismes nationaux ou internationaux confrontés à l'application des questions éthiques dans le domaine du développement;
  • Conduire un travail d'observation d'opérations concrètes de développement pendant un semestre à l'étranger;
  • Bénéficier d'un encadrement sur place par une université partenaire dans le cadre de liens contractuels;
  • Poursuivre une exigence théorique articulant enjeux éthiques et problèmes de développement;
  • Maîtriser les différentes dimensions de la gestion de projet de sa conception à son évaluation en passant par sa mise en place.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
En réponse à la question du «comment faut-il agir?», le Master spécialisé propose une formation centrée sur le débat critique qui prend la question éthique dans toute son ampleur et sa complexité.

Ainsi, ce programme promeut-il la formation d'un profil d'analystes-intervenants qui ne soient pas simplement en capacité d'agir selon un cadre général, mais qui sachent intégrer la complexité de la réalité sociale et notamment les enjeux éthiques et de responsabilité qui aujourd'hui animent grandement les questions de développement (social, environnemental, éducatif, sanitaire, technologique, etc) des sociétés contemporaines. Ce corps d'agents fait cruellement défaut dans un contexte où sont justement réinterrogés, de manière récurrente, d'une part par les organisations, fondations et associations qui œuvrent dans le champ du développement ou de l'aide au développement et d'autre part, par l'opinion publique, les dimensions éthiques, sociales et humanistes du développement.

Il prépare ainsi à des fonctions de recherche, de conseil, d'organisation de programme, dans des administrations publiques, des associations d'intérêt divers, d'organismes à but non lucratif actifs dans le domaine du social, de l'humanitaire, des cabinets de consultants, dans des organisations non gouvernementales ou dans des administrations (inter-) nationales. Dans la mesure où les enjeux actuels de l'éthique et du développement sont d'une complexité croissante, il pourra également intéresser des étudiantes et des étudiants qui visent des fonctions managériales dans le domaine du social et dans les secteurs public et privé, appelés souvent à prendre des décisions dont les enjeux dépassent largement le seul cadre de leur secteur.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS + 30 crédits ECTS dans un programme de spécialisation, 4 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/421D-

Remarque

Nombre de places limité à 25.

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.
Sont admis sans autres conditions à ce Master les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor délivré par une université suisse en travail social et politiques sociales, en sociologie, en anthropologie sociale, en sciences sociales et humaines, en philosophie, en histoire contemporaine, en géographie humaine, en sciences économiques, en sciences politiques, en relations internationales, en sciences de l'éducation et/ou en pédagogie curative.