Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Theology (Canonical License)

Abstract

A Canonical License is required for advancement to a doctorate by students wishing to teach at a papal or other ecclesiastical university, or at a seminary.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Unlike other university disciplines, theology has its own guiding perspective: it is fundamentally concerned with God and doctrine, reflecting its own position and that of the church in society. The critical work of theology is aimed at helping to keep issues of values and truth alive in public discourse.

Theological training consists primarily of training courses for future priests and pastoral care assistants and secondary school teachers.

Fribourg profile
The Faculty of Theology of the University of Fribourg is the largest theological faculty in Switzerland and one of two Catholic theological faculties integrated into a state university. Like the other faculties, it is subject to state law; however, it is also recognised by the ecclesiastical authorities and is supported by the Dominican Order and the Conference of Bishops of Switzerland.

The content of a Canonical License course consists of lectures and classes, a thesis and ECTS points in the license special subject and in other theological fields, which are agreed with the license supervisor. All departments must be taken into consideration: the Hebraic Bible and its cultural context (OT), the New Testament in its cultural and historical context, patristics and ancient church history, modern and contemporary church history, the sciences of faith and philosophy, dogmatic theology, the theology of ecumenism, interreligious dialogue, theological ethics, practical theology and liturgical science.

Candidates doing a license are mentored by their thesis supervisor. He or she defines the license components in agreement with the candidate.

Candidates who already have a specialist Master's degree in Theology must catch up the subjects they did not study for their Master's degree in agreement with the curator studiorum for their license; this may prolong their studies to two years.

Learning outcomes and career openings
A Canonical License is required for advancement to a doctorate by candidates wishing to teach at a papal or other ecclesiastical university (SapC 17) or at a priests' seminary (SapC 50.1). To be eligible to apply for a doctoral programme, candidates need a Canonical License; this gives them access to a doctorate recognised by the church.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits, 2 semesters

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Théologie (Licence canonique)

Résumé

La licence canonique est le prérequis de l'admission aux études de doctorat pour celles et ceux qui souhaitent enseigner dans un établissement supérieur de droit pontifical, une université religieuse ou à des séminaristes.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Contrairement à d'autres domaines d'études universitaires, la théologie a un fil conducteur qui lui est propre: elle s'intéresse essentiellement à Dieu et à la religion. En ce sens, elle reflète sa propre position et celle de l'Eglise dans la société. Le travail critique de la théologie vise à faire en sorte que les problématiques de valeur et de vérité restent vivantes dans le discours public.

Le noyau dur de la formation théologique est constitué par les cursus de préparation des futurs prêtres, des assistantes et assistants pastoraux, ainsi que des enseignantes et enseignants du degré secondaire.

Profil fribourgeois
La Faculté de théologie de l'Université de Fribourg est la plus grande de Suisse. Elle fait partie de l'une des deux Facultés de théologie catholique du pays intégrées dans une université d'Etat. Comme les autres Facultés de l'Université, elle est soumise à la loi fédérale tout en étant reconnue par les autorités ecclésiastiques. Elle est soutenue par l'Ordre des dominicains et par la Conférence des évêques suisses.

Le programme de la licence canonique comprend des cours et la préparation du mémoire de licence. Des crédits ECTS sont à acquérir dans les matières de licence ainsi que dans d'autres disciplines théologiques, choisies en concertation avec la professeure ou le professeur qui supervise la licence. Tous les départements doivent être pris en considération: la Bible hébraïque et son contexte culturel (AT), le Nouveau Testament et son contexte historico-culturel, patristique et histoire de l'Eglise ancienne, histoire de l'Eglise moderne et contemporaine, sciences de la foi et philosophie, théologie dogmatique, théologie de l'oecuménisme, dialogue interreligieux, théologie morale et éthique, théologie pratique, sciences liturgiques.

Les études de licence sont supervisées par la directrice ou le directeur du mémoire, qui définit les obligations d'études avec la candidate ou le candidat.

Les titulaires d'un Master spécialisé en théologie doivent, en concertation avec le curator studiorum, rattraper les matières qui leur manquent dans le cadre de la licence canonique. Les études peuvent alors être prolongées de deux ans.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
La licence canonique est le prérequis de l'admission aux études de doctorat pour celles et ceux qui souhaitent enseigner dans un établissement supérieur de droit pontifical, une université religieuse (SapC 17) ou à des séminaristes (SapC 50.1). Il est impératif d'obtenir la licence canonique pour pouvoir accéder à un doctorat reconnu par l'Eglise.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS, 4 semestres

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études que celle du Bachelor peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.