Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Admission

Conditions of admission

Bachelor

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor’s degree courses at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate;
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission;
  • Bachelor’s degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH).

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates (in French and German only) is to be found on the website of the Rectors’ Conference of the Swiss Universities (CRUS).

Foreign academic upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognized only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language);
  2. Second language;
  3. Mathematics;
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics);
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law);
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5).

The general admission requirements to Bachelor’s degree courses for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries (in French and German only) are to be found on our website. In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007 (French and German only). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Application procedure and further informations
Master

Master’s degree courses are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor’s degree.

Holders of a Bachelor’s degree awarded from a Swiss University can be admitted to a Master’s degree course within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor's level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognized and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor’s degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor’s degree awarded by a foreign University, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognized and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master’s degree course within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master’s degree course) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master’s degree course). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor’s degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master’s degree course are reserved.

Application procedure and further informations
Guest Students
Guest student: complementary studies

The University of Fribourg offers students registered at another Swiss university the possibility to follow a limited number of courses and, if necessary, to submit written reports and sit the corresponding examinations.

Guest students: minor studies

The University of Fribourg offers students registered at another Swiss university the possibility to study a minor for as long as the home university does not offer that particular minor.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Admission

Conditions d'admission

Bachelor

Les diplômes suisses de fin d’études suivants permettent une admission aux études de Bachelor à l’Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération;
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d’examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle);
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d’une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP).

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de la Conférence des Recteurs des Universités Suisses (CRUS).

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d’études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années dans une école de maturité, selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle);
  2. Deuxième langue;
  3. Mathématiques;
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique);
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit);
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5).

Les exigences générales d’admission aux études de Bachelor pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d’études ainsi que les conditions d’admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur notre site web. De plus, les candidates étrangères et les candidats étrangers doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L’évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d’études se base sur les Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l’évaluation des diplômes d’études secondaires supérieures étrangers. Les conditions d’admission ne sont valables que pour l’année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l’Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Procédure d'inscription et informations complémentaires
Master

Les études de Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l’obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d’un diplôme de Bachelor délivré par une université suisse sont admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d’études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 crédits ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d’études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d’un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l’Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d’un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l’Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d’études que celle du Bachelor sont admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l’entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d’un diplôme de Bachelor d’une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d’admission propres à chaque programme d’études sont réservées.

Procédure d'inscription et informations complémentaires
Etudiantes et étudiants hôtes
Etudiantes et étudiants hôtes d'enseignement complémentaire

L’Université de Fribourg offre aux étudiantes et aux étudiants inscrits dans une autre haute école universitaire suisse la possibilité de suivre un nombre restreint de cours et, le cas échéant, de déposer dans ce cadre des travaux écrits et de se présenter à des examens.

Etudiantes et étudiants hôtes de branche secondaire

L’Université de Fribourg offre aux étudiantes et aux étudiants inscrits dans une autre haute école universitaire suisse la possibilité d’étudier une branche secondaire à condition que l’université d’origine n’offre pas la branche en question.