Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Glossary

The Bologna process
Process initiated in 1999 by the Bologna Declaration, with the purpose of establishing a European Higher Education Area (EHEA, declared open in 2010). The process introduced a system of academic grades that are easily recognisable and comparable. The process also aims to promote mobility of students, teachers and researchers, to ensure a high quality of teaching and to integrate the European dimension into higher education.
ECTS European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System
The ECTS credit system improves transparency by providing a means of comparison for study programmes and diplomas; it also facilitates the process of mutually recognising diplomas and qualifications. 1 ECTS credit corresponds to a workload of 25 to 30 hours.
Bachelor
The 1st cycle of studies in which students receive a general scientific education. To gain a Bachelor’s degree students have to acquire 180 ECTS credits in 3 years of full-time studies.
Master
The 2nd cycle of studies in which students deepen the knowledge acquired in the 1st cycle (Bachelor). To gain a Master’s degree students have to acquire 90 to 120 ECTS credits in 1.5 to 2 years of full-time studies.
PhD
Personal research followed by a thesis under supervision of a University professor is required. The first condition for a PhD is to have a recognised Master’s degree. In some cases, a minimum final mark in Master’s examinations is required. The duration of research is variable. It takes between 2 and 6 years to obtain a PhD depending in particular on the research domain.
BENEFRI/BEFRI (Convention)
A collaboration network established by a framework convention between the universities of Bern, Neuchâtel and Fribourg. The purpose of the network is mainly to co-ordinate teaching between the three universities and to allow students to easily access a wider range of studies. A number of conventions have been drawn up which govern the range of courses. For some study programmes, the co-operation set up between the three universities makes mobility between sites compulsory. Students receive a common BENEFRI diploma.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Glossaire

Processus de Bologne
Processus initié en 1999 par la Déclaration de Bologne avec comme objectif d’instituer un Espace européen de l’enseignement supérieur (EHEA, déclaré ouvert en 2010). Le processus a introduit un système de grades académiques facilement reconnaissables et comparables. Il vise également à promouvoir la mobilité des étudiantes et étudiants, celle du corps enseignants et celle des chercheuses et chercheurs, ainsi qu’à assurer la qualité de l’enseignement et à intégrer la dimension européenne dans l’enseignement supérieur.
ECTS
European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (Système européen de transfert et d’accumulation de crédits)
Le système de crédits ECTS permet d’améliorer la transparence et la comparaison entre les programmes d’études et les diplômes; il facilite également les processus de reconnaissance mutuelle des diplômes et des qualifications. 1 crédit ECTS correspond à une charge de travail de 25 à 30 heures.
Bachelor
Le 1er cycle des études, dispensant à l’étudiante ou à l’étudiant une formation scientifique générale. Un Bachelor suppose l’acquisition de 180 crédits ECTS répartis en principe sur une durée de trois ans d’études à plein temps.
Master
Le 2ème cycle des études, approfondissant les connaissances acquises par l’étudiante ou l’étudiant au cours du 1er cycle (Bachelor). Un Master suppose l’acquisition de 90 à 120 crédits ECTS répartis en principe sur une durée d’un 1,5 à 2 ans d’études à plein temps.
Doctorat
Travail personnel de recherche suivi de la rédaction d’une thèse sous la supervision d’un professeur d’Université. La première condition pour s’inscrire au doctorat est de posséder un diplôme de Master reconnu. Dans certains cas, une note finale minimum aux examens de Master est exigée. La durée des recherches n’est pas standard. Il faut compter entre 2 et 6 ans pour obtenir son Doctorat. Cela dépend notamment du domaine de recherche.
BENEFRI/BEFRI (Convention)
Un réseau de collaboration institué par une convention-cadre entre les universités de Berne, Neuchâtel et Fribourg. Il a pour objectif de coordonner principalement l’enseignement entre les trois universités, et de permettre aux étudiantes et étudiants d’accéder ainsi facilement à une offre d’études plus large. Un certain nombre de conventions de branches régissent cette offre. Pour certains programmes d’études, la coopération instaurée entre les trois universités rend obligatoires les déplacements d’un site à un autre. Les étudiantes et étudiants obtiennent ainsi un diplôme commun BENEFRI.