Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Structure of studies

The courses offered at the University of Fribourg are offered in compliance with the Bologna process. The University issues diplomas which are recognised in the European Higher Education Area (EHEA).

The education system is sub-divided into three cycles:

  • Bachelor: an initial course earning 180 ECTS credits, corresponding in principle to 3 years of full-time studies and leading to the title of Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science or Bachelor of Medicine;
  • Master: an in-depth course earning between 90 and 120 ECTS credits, corresponding in principle to 1, 5 or 2 years of full-time studies and leading to the title of Master of Arts or Master of Science;
  • PhD: personal research work followed by a thesis. PhD candidates are admitted by application only, pursuant to the conditions of admission specific to each faculty. The duration of studies is variable.

Education system: Bachelor (3 years) ? Master (2 years) ? PhD/Doctorate (3 years and more) In compliance with the Bologna process, it is possible to study for a Bachelor’s degree in one university and a Master’s degree in another university.

Organisation of the academic year

The university academic year is divided into 2 semesters. Autumn semester lessons start in mid-September (week 38) and end at the end of December (week 51). Spring semester lessons start in mid-February (week 8) and end at the start of June (week 22), i.e. in principle 14 weeks of lessons for each semester.

Academic year

Structure of studies according to Faculty

Faculty of Theology
Bachelor

The Faculty of Theology offers two main types of study programmes: full major study programmes (180 ECTS credits) and major study programmes (120 ECTS credits). Students choose either a full major, or a major plus one or two secondary minors (60 ECTS credits or 30+30 ECTS credits) from a field of study other than that of the major.

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (60/30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Master

The Faculty of Theology offers two main types of study programme: full major study programmes (120 ECTS credits) and major study programmes (90 ECTS credits). Students choose a full major or a major plus one minor (30 ECTS credits) from a field of study other than that of the major.

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Faculty of Law
Bachelor

The Faculty of Law offers a full major study programme (180 ECTS credits) leading to a Bachelor of Law.

Students from other faculties may also study law as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Master

Study programmes at the Faculty of Law earn 90 ECTS credits.

Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences
Bachelor

The main study programmes at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences earn 180 ECTS credits, with the exception of the Communication and Media Research programme (120 ECTS credits). The latter must be supplemented with one or two minor study programmes (60 ECTS credits in total).

Students from other faculties may also study economics and social sciences as a minor study programmes (60/30 ECTS credits).

Master

The main study programmes offered at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences earn 90 ECTS credits.

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Bachelor

At the Faculty of Arts and Humanities, students choose a major study programme (120 ECTS credits) in a first field of study, and a minor study programme (60 ECTS credits) in another field.

There are three exceptions to this rule: the full major study programmes in Special Education and Social Pedagogy, Speech-Language Therapy  and Psychology (180 ECTS credits). 

The Faculty also offers secondary minor study programmes (60/30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Master

The Faculty of Arts and Humanities offers three types of study programme: major study programmes (90 ECTS credits, including the Master’s thesis), specialisation programmes (30 ECTS credits) and minor study programmes (30 ECTS credits). Candidates choose a major study programme then, if required as part of this programme, a specialisation programme (associated with the same field of study) or a minor (associated with another field of study). If a specialisation programme or a minor not required as part of the major, the choice of a specialisation programme or a minor is optional.

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Faculty of Science
Bachelor

The Faculty of Science offers major study programmes earning 150 or 120 ECTS credits. These study programmes must be completed along with a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits), or one or two minor study programmes (60 ECTS credits in total).

Exceptions to this rule are studies leading to a Bachelor of Medicine in Human Medicine (180 ECTS credits) and to a Bachelor of Medicine in Dental Medicine (120 ECTS credits; only the first two years at Fribourg).

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (60/30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Master

The Faculty of Science offers full major study programmes earning 90 or 120 ECTS credits.

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Teacher Education for Secondary level

For this courses, please consult the following sources for the structure of studies:

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Structure des études

L’offre d’études de l’Université de Fribourg est conforme au processus de Bologne. L’Université délivre ainsi des diplômes reconnus dans l’Espace européen de l’enseignement supérieur.

Le système d’études se subdivise en trois cycles:

  • Bachelor: une formation de base à 180 crédit ECTS, correspondant en principe à 3 ans d’études à plein temps, et conduisant au titre de Bachelor of Arts, de Bachelor of Science ou de Bachelor of Medicine;
  • Master: une formation approfondie à 90 ou 120 crédits ECTS, correspondant en principe à 1,5 ou 2 ans d’études à plein temps, et conduisant au titre de Master of Arts ou de Master of Science;
  • Doctorat: un travail personnel de recherche suivi de la rédaction d’une thèse. L’admission au Doctorat se fait uniquement sur dossier de candidature, en vertu des conditions d’admission spécifiques à chaque faculté. La durée des études n’est pas standardisée.

Système d’études: Bachelor (3 ans) ? Master (2 ans) ? Doctorat (3 ans ou plus) Conformément au processus de Bologne, il est possible d’obtenir un diplôme de Bachelor dans une université, puis un diplôme de Master au sein d’une autre université.

Organisation de l’année académique

L’année académique universitaire est divisée en 2 semestres. Les cours du semestre d’automne (SA) débutent à la mi-septembre (semaine 38) et se terminent à fin décembre (semaine 51). Les cours du semestre de printemps (SP) commencent à la mi-février (semaine 8) et finissent au début juin (semaine 22), soit en principe 14 semaines de cours pour chaque semestre.

Année académique: semestre d

Structure des études selon la Faculté

Faculté de théologie
Bachelor

La Faculté de théologie offre deux types de programmes d’études principaux: des programmes d’études uniques (180 crédits ECTS) et des programmes d’études principaux (120 crédits ECTS). Les étudiantes et les étudiants choisissent soit un programme d’études unique, soit un programme d’études principal plus un ou deux programme d’études secondaires (60 crédits ECTS ou 30+30 crédits ECTS), rattachés à un autre domaine que le programme d’études principal.

La Faculté propose également des programmes d’études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS) ouverts aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d’autres domaines.

Master

La Faculté de théologie offre deux types de programmes d’études: des programmes d’études uniques (120 crédits ECTS) et des programmes d’études principaux (90 crédits ECTS). Les étudiantes et les étudiants choisissent soit un programme d’études unique, soit un programme d’études principal plus un programme d’études secondaires (à 30 crédits ECTS) rattaché à un autre domaine que le programme d’études principal.

La Faculté propose également des programmes d’études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS) ouverts aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d’autres facultés.

Faculté de droit
Bachelor

La Faculté de droit offre un programme d’études unique (180 crédits ECTS), menant à l’obtention du Bachelor of Law.

La Faculté offre également la possibilité d’étudier le droit en tant que programmes d’études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS) aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d’autres facultés.

Master

En Faculté de droit, les programmes d’études sont offerts à 90 crédits ECTS.

Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales
Bachelor

En Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales, les programmes d’études principaux sont offerts à 180 crédits ECTS, à l’exception du programme d’études Sciences de la communication et des médias (120 crédits ECTS), ce programme devant être complété par un ou deux programmes d’études secondaires (60 crédits ECTS au total).

La Faculté offre également la possibilité d’étudier les sciences économiques et sociales en tant que programmes d’études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS) aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d’autres facultés.

Master

En Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales, les programmes d’études principaux sont offerts à 90 crédits ECTS.

La Faculté propose également des programmes d’études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS) ouverts aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d’autres facultés.

Faculté des lettres
Bachelor

En Faculté des lettres, les étudiantes et les étudiants choisissent en principe un programme d’études principal (120 crédits ECTS) dans un premier domaine, et un programme d’études secondaires (60 crédits ECTS) dans un second domaine.

Font exception les trois programmes d’études principaux Pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée, Logopédie et Psychologie, qui sont offerts à 180 crédits ECTS. 

La Faculté propose également des programmes d’études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS) ouverts aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d’autres facultés.

Master

La Faculté des lettres offre trois types de programmes d’études: des programmes d’études approfondies (90 crédits ECTS, mémoire de Master inclus), des programmes de spécialisation (30 crédits ECTS) et des programmes d’études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS). Les étudiantes et les étudiants choisissent un programme d’études approfondies puis, si exigé par ce programme, un programme de spécialisation (rattaché au même domaine) ou un programme d’études secondaires (rattaché à un autre domaine). Dans les cas où un programme d’études de spécialisation ou un programme d’études secondaires n’est pas exigé par le programme d’études approfondies, le choix d’un programme de spécialisation ou d’un programme d’études secondaires est optionnel.

La Faculté propose également des programmes d’études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS) ouverts aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d’autres facultés.

Faculté des sciences
Bachelor

En principe, la Faculté des sciences offre des programmes d’études principaux à 150 ou 120 crédits ECTS. Ces programmes d’études principaux doivent être complétés par un programme d’études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS), respectivement un ou deux programmes d’études secondaires (60 crédits ECTS au total).

Les études menant à l’obtention du Bachelor of Medicine en Médecine humaine (180 crédits ECTS), et du Bachelor of Medicine en Médecine dentaire (120 crédits ECTS, uniquement les deux premières années à Fribourg), font exception.

La Faculté propose également des programmes d’études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS) ouverts aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d’autres facultés.

Master

La Faculté des sciences offre des programmes d’études uniques à 90 ou 120 crédits ECTS.

La Faculté propose également des programmes d’études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS) ouverts aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d’autres facultés.

Enseignement pour le degré secondaire

Pour les structures d’études particulières à ces cursus, veuillez consulter les ressources suivantes: