Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Choose Fribourg

A University Town "par excellence"

You won’t find a campus in Fribourg: Fribourg is the campus! With its 10,000 students and only 40,000 inhabitants, life in the city has a university feel about it like hardly anywhere else. The combination of medieval heritage and pulsating student life gives Fribourg its incomparable charm.

The opportunity that is bilingualism

Switzerland’s only bilingual university is in Fribourg. Its students can study almost all their subjects in German, French or both. Students who take at least 40% of their lectures in a second language receive the additional note «Bilingual curriculum» on their degree. There are also courses of an international nature which are given in English.

Personal contact to staff

At Fribourg University no-one is just a number. Its relatively small size, together with the commitment of its teaching staff, ensure that students can make the most of an ideal staff-to-student ratio. And with its five faculties there is an extremely wide choice of subjects.

International flair

Since it was founded in 1889, the University of Fribourg has developed an international focus. Today there are young people from 110 countries studying in this city on the Saane River. They make up around 20% of the student population. Together with the international professorial staff they make the University a really multicultural forum of ideas.

Reasonable cost of living

Compared with other Swiss cities, Fribourg offers comparatively low living costs. It is quite easy for students to find a sensibly priced room in student or shared accommodation in the city or in the surrounding area.

Immerse yourself in culture and nature

Surrounded by the idyllic Saane gorge, this House of Zähringen city, founded in 1157, is a continual source of wonder for tourists and locals alike. The old part of the city with its Gothic cathedral and narrow streets, its old stone or wooden bridges, museums, pubs and picturesque squares make Fribourg a medieval jewel in Europe’s crown. And as well as all this, Fribourg’s position close to the foothills of the Alps offers a broad range of leisure and recreational activities as a balance to city life.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Choisir Fribourg

La ville universitaire par excellence

Vous ne trouverez aucun campus à Fribourg: la ville est le campus! Avec 10'000 étudiantes et étudiants sur un total de 40'000 habitants, la vie de la ville est rythmée par l’Université comme nulle part ailleurs. Cette combinaison unique entre héritage médiéval et vie estudiantine trépidante donne à Fribourg un charme incomparable.

Le bilinguisme: une chance à saisir

C’est à Fribourg que se trouve l’unique Université bilingue de Suisse. Presque toutes les branches offrent la possibilité aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d’accomplir leur cursus en allemand, en français ou dans les deux langues. Celles et ceux qui suivent leurs études en fréquentant au moins 40% des cours dans la deuxième langue obtiendront un diplôme avec la mention «Études bilingues». De plus, les programmes d’études organisés sur le plan international sont proposés en anglais.

Soigner un contact individualisé

A l’Université de Fribourg, personne n’est noyé dans la masse. Sa taille moyenne et l’engagement du corps enseignant permettent aux étudiantes et aux étudiants de profiter d’un encadrement personnalisé idéal. Cependant, grâce à ses cinq Facultés, elle est en mesure de proposer un choix considérable de voies d’études.

Une ambiance internationale

Depuis sa fondation en 1889, l’Université de Fribourg cultive son rayonnement international. A l’heure actuelle, des jeunes gens en provenance de 110 pays étudient dans la ville baignée par la Sarine et représentent presque 20% de la communauté estudiantine. Avec des professeurs de différentes nationalités, ils font de l’Université un véritable forum multiculturel.

Des prix abordables

En comparaison avec d’autres villes suisses, le coût de la vie à Fribourg est relativement bas. En ville ou dans les environs, il est assez facile pour les étudiantes et les étudiants de trouver une chambre dans un foyer ou dans une colocation à un prix abordable.

Une immersion dans la culture et la nature

Entourée par les idylliques gorges de la Sarine, la ville fondée en 1157 par les Zähringen est une source d’émerveillement continu pour les touristes comme pour ses habitants. La vieille ville et sa cathédrale gothique, ses ruelles étroites, ses vieux ponts de bois et de pierre, ses musées, ses bistrots et ses places pittoresques en font l’un des plus beaux bijoux médiévaux d’Europe. Sa situation au pied des Préalpes offre à la population fribourgeoise une large palette d’activités récréatives et relaxantes en pleine nature.