Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Medical Humanities

Fribourg profile

The PhD in Medical Humanities at the University of Fribourg is framed either by questions and methods in historiography (of medicine) or in literary studies or it connects both. Research questions target contemporary medicine and illuminate specific aspects from a historical point of view; precisely from the perspective of cultural and literary history, history of medicine and media history. The approach is rather hermeneutical than empirical: representative sources – such as texts, images, films, practices, spaces, techniques – will be analysed, contextualised, interpreted and embedded in a coherent line of argumentation. The final aim of the PhD is an independently written monograph that contributes to a better understanding of the current medical system and its core features – such as global or local public health, doctor-patient-relationship, clinical communication, scientific practices, scientific institutions and actors, cultural conceptions of health and illness and their change over time; finally the mutual interplay between medicine, art and media.

The PhD thesis can be written in either English, German or French.

The PhD is suitable for career plans in a worldwide expanding, vibrant academic field – Medical Humanities or Health Humanities – that blossoms mainly at American, British and French universities; also at some Scandinavian and Swiss institutions. Additionally, this PhD may promote careers in extra-academic fields which require a critical perspective on the medical system – such as medical, scientific and health journalism, work in museums, archives and other institutions of cultural heritage, health management or positions in public health. Given the transdisciplinary approach which connects historiographical methods with scientific subjects, we require a double academic training at bachelor level as precondition for the PhD.

Responsible professors
The PhD theses in Medical Humanities will be supervised by Prof. Martina King.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

-

Admission

– Candidates holding a master's degree in medicine, global health, public health, health sciences, health management (or similar) and a bachelor's degree in history or any type of literary studies;
– Candidates holding a master's degree in history or any type of literary studies and a bachelor's degree in medicine, global health, public health, health sciences, health management (or similar);
– Candidates who hold a master's degree in Medical Humanities from a European or American university.

Given the multitude of potential combinations of academic trainings who can count as entrance criteria for a PhD in Medical Humanities, we strongly suggest that future candidates contact us personally.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften in der Medizin

Freiburger Profil

Der PhD in Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften in der Medizin (Medical Humanities) hat an der Universität Fribourg eine geschichtswissenschaftliche und/oder literaturwissenschaftliche Ausrichtung. Forschungsfragen richten sich auf die gegenwärtige Medizin und beleuchten sie aus der Perspektive ihrer eigenen Kultur-, Literatur-, Ideen- und Mediengeschichte. Dabei wird nicht empirisch sondern im Sinne eines geisteswissenschaftlichen Ansatzes hermeneutisch-verstehend vorgegangen: exemplarische Quellen (Texte, Bilder, Filme, Praktiken, Räume, Apparate) sollen interpretativ erschlossen und in ein zusammenhängendes Argument eingebettet werden. Ziel des Doktorats ist eine eigenständig verfasste Monographie, die zum besseren Verstehen von medikalen Kernbereichen beiträgt: globales oder lokales Gesundheitswesen, Arzt-Patientenbeziehung, klinische Kommunikation, wissenschaftliche Praktiken, wissenschaftliche Institutionen und Akteure, gesellschaftliche Auffassungen von Gesundheit und Krankheit sowie Wechselwirkungen zwischen Medizin, Kunst und Medien.

Die Dissertationsschrift kann in Englisch, Deutsch oder Französisch abgefasst werden.

Das Doktorat eignet sich für Karrieren in einem weltweit lebendigen, stark expandierenden akademischen Feld – Medical Humanities oder auch Health Humanities – dessen Ballungszentren vor allem an amerikanischen, britischen und französischen sowie an einigen skandinavischen und schweizerischen Universitäten angesiedelt sind. Es eignet sich ferner für extraakademische Berufswege, die mit einer kritisch-reflexiven Perspektive auf das Medizinsystem verknüpft sind: Medizin-, Wissenschafts- bzw. Gesundheitsjournalismus, Arbeit in Museen, Archiven oder anderen Institutionen des kulturellen Erbes, Karrieren in Gesundheitsmanagement oder Institutionen der öffentlichen Gesundheitspflege. Aufgrund des transdisziplinären Ansatzes, der geisteswissenschaftliche Methoden mit naturwissenschaftlichen Themen verknüpft, ist neben einem Master-Studium eine universitäre Doppelausbildung auf Bachelor-Stufe Grundvoraussetzung.

Betreuende Professorinnen und Professoren
Die Dissertationen in Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften in der Medizin werden von Prof. Martina King betreut.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

Es können keine ECTS-Kreditpunkte erworben werden.

Doktoratsschule

-

Zulassung

– Kandidaten mit einem Master in Humanmedizin, Global Health, Public Health, Gesundheitswissenschaften, Gesundheitsmanagement o.ä. und einem Bachelor in Geschichte oder einer Literaturwissenschaft;
– Kandidaten mit einem Master in Geschichte oder einer Literaturwissenschaft sowie einem Bachelor in Humanmedizin, Global Health, Public Health, Gesundheitswissenschaften oder Gesundheitsmanagement o.ä.;
– Kandidaten, die an einer europäischen oder amerikanischen Universität einen Master in Medical Humanities oder Health Humanities erworben haben.

Aufgrund der Vielzahl möglicher akademischer Vorbildungen, die eine Zulassung zum PhD erlauben, empfehlen wir jedem potentiellen Interessenten, persönlich mit uns Kontakt aufzunehmen.