Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Dynamics in Glaciology and Geomorphology

Abstract

Our specialised master programme in Dynamics in Glaciology and Geomorphology focuses on changes in cold environments. The programme teaches students with backgrounds other than geography the physical processes within the cryosphere, mountain geomorphology, natural hazards and land-atmosphere interactions. After studying a core module covering conceptual and theoretical bases in both physical and human geography, students focus on high altitude and polar regions and study their dynamics in the context of climate change.
Our programme familiarises students with state-of-the-art geoscientific measurement, modelling and data analysis tools. In a series of methodological and thematic courses, students learn to assess physical and environmental changes across a broad range of foci. Seminars, project work and excursions encourage students to apply their skills to real-world problems. In the framework of their master's thesis, students can participate in national or international research teams. Through quality teaching and mentoring, we aim to provide students with a genuinely professional qualification and optimal career perspectives.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Unit of Geography – part of the University of Fribourg Department of Geosciences – offers a specialised master's degree in Dynamics in Glaciology and Geomorphology. The degree focuses on current environmental research problems within regions of high altitude and latitude and is aimed at students from backgrounds other than geography. The course focuses on understanding and analysing physical processes within the cryosphere and in the fields of mountain geomorphology, natural hazards and land-atmosphere interactions. The programme deals with the various aspects of climate change and involves state-of-the-art geoscientific measurement, modelling and data analysis techniques.

Students first learn the necessary background in cryosphere and high-mountain geomorphological processes. Modules on theoretical and methodological approaches provide the foundations to independently assessing geoscientific and environmental issues. Amongst others, these modules include numerical modelling, GIS-based analysis, remote sensing, geophysical and geodetic measurement techniques, analysis of climatological time series and geomorphological field techniques.

Our specialised master's degree aims at deepening knowledge and to perfect competences in the chosen cryospheric or geomorphological field. At the end of the programme, students will have demonstrated proficiency both in working in an interdisciplinary research team and in applying their knowledge independently during a research project of their own. The award of the degree requires creativity and reflexivity, as well as the ability to communicate ideas and work both in English and in the student's native language.

Integrative, interdisciplinary geography
The diverse research interests of around 30 researchers at the Unit of Geography make the specialised master's course in Dynamics in Glaciology and Geomorphology truly integrative and interdisciplinary. Apart from the focus on topics in cryosphere, glaciology or alpine geomorphology, we also offer integrative training with the neighbouring disciplines of the Department, i.e. Human Geography, Earth Sciences and Environmental Sciences. During their master's studies in Fribourg – and especially while working on their master's thesis – students are part of research teams and can participate in on-going national and international research projects. The human dimensions of our diverse Department and the drive of the various research groups provide a supportive, quality environment for all students.

Structure of classes and lectures
All teaching is in English. The teaching is structured into four modules and is delivered through a combination of lectures, hands-on methodological courses, seminars, excursions and colloquiums. A field trip is organised abroad in one of the teams' research regions every other year (Morocco in 2009, Namibia in 2011, Central Asia in 2013, Kyrgyzstan in 2017, Greenland in 2019), complemented by student-organised excursions in Switzerland.

  1. The core module covers the conceptual and theoretical bases in geography. Students are taught the different approaches to human and physical geography at master's level, as well as methods for collecting and analysing data. Three cycles of internal colloquiums offer students a chance to gain more in-depth knowledge on current research topics.
  2. The specialisation module equips the students with advanced knowledge in the chosen field.
  3. A supporting module allows students to personalise their study programmes by pursuing courses related to their specialisation. Students can choose from a wide range of courses from the University of Fribourg, as well as other universities. Depending on the student's prior education and training, the supporting module may also be used to fill in gaps.
  4. The master's thesis is carried out under the supervision of a professor and makes up a very substantial part of the programme.

Career openings
This programme is intended for motivated students who are interested in pursuing a career in research – e.g. by pursuing a PhD – or in the public or private sector – e.g. in geoscientific/environmental consulting and protection, risk analysis and mitigation, documentation, public institutions or international organisations. The specialised master's degree does not give access to the teacher education for academic upper secondary schools (DEEM or LDM) of the University of Fribourg.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/z3FE1 (German)

Admission

Admission to the specialised master is based on the student's dossier, according to the conditions described in the study plan.
N.B. Students who have obtained a bachelor's degree in geography, or at least 60 ECTS credits in geography, should choose the master's degree in geography (option Dynamics in Glaciology and Geomorphology or Nature, Society and Politics).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Dynamische Systeme in Glaziologie und Geomorphologie

Kurzbeschreibung

Bei unserem spezialisierten Master Dynamische Systeme in Glaziologie und Geomorphologie liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Veränderungen in kalten Umgebungen wie Gebirgen und den Polarregionen. Studierende, deren Hintergrund nicht die Geographie ist, machen sich mit den physikalischen Prozessen in der Kryosphäre, mit der Geomorphologie der Berge, den Naturrisiken und den Interaktionen zwischen Boden und Atmosphäre vertraut. Das Studium besteht aus einem Hauptmodul, das die konzeptionelle und theoretische Grundlage in Human- und Physischer Geographie legt, anschliessend beschäftigen sich die Studierenden schwerpunktmässig mit Polar- und Gebirgs-Regionen und studieren deren Dynamiken im Kontext des Klimawandels.
In unserem Programm machen sich die Studierenden mit modernen Werkzeugen für die geowissenschaftliche Messung, Modellierung und Datenanalyse vertraut. In einer Reihe methodologischer und thematischer Kurse lernen sie, Umwelt- und physikalische Veränderungen mit einem breiten Spektrum von Schwerpunkten einzuschätzen. Seminare, Projektarbeit und Exkursionen ermöglichen die Anwendung der erworbenen Fähigkeiten auf reale Probleme. Im Rahmen der Masterarbeit ist die Mitarbeit in nationalen oder internationalen Forscherteams möglich. Mit qualitativ hochwertiger Lehre und Betreuung möchten wir den Studierenden eine echte berufliche Qualifikation und optimale Berufsaussichten bieten.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Der Fachbereich Geographie gehört zum Departement für Geowissenschaften der Universität Freiburg und bietet den spezialisierten Master Dynamische Systeme in Glaziologie und Geomorphologie an. Dieser Master legt den Schwerpunkt auf die derzeitigen Forschungsfragen zu Umweltveränderungen in Gebirgs- und Polar-Regionen und zielt auf Studierende mit nicht geographischem Hintergrund ab. Das Programm konzentriert sich auf das Verständnis und die Analyse der physikalischen Prozesse in der Kryosphäre, auf die Geomorphologie der Berge, die Naturrisiken und die Interaktionen zwischen Boden und Atmosphäre. Es werden die verschiedenen Aspekte des Klimawandels behandelt, und die Studierenden machen sich vertraut mit hochmodernen Werkzeugen für die geowissenschaftliche Messung, Modellierung und Datenanalyse.

Zunächst erarbeiten sich die Studierenden den notwendigen Hintergrund zu den Prozessen in der Kryosphäre und im Hochgebirge. In Modulen über theoretische und methodologische Ansätze werden die Grundlagen für die unabhängige Einschätzung geowissenschaftlicher und umweltbezogener Problemstellungen gelegt. Diese Module umfassen unter anderem numerische Modellierung, GIS-basierte Analyse, Fernerkennung, geophysikalische und geodätische Messtechniken, Analyse von klimatologischen Zeitreihen und geomorphologische Feldtechniken.

Unser spezialisierter Master beabsichtigt die Wissensvertiefung und Kenntniserweiterung im gewählten kryosphärischen oder geomorphologischen Feld. Am Ende des Programms haben die Studierenden ihre Fertigkeiten in interdisziplinären Forscherteams und bei der unabhängigen Anwendung ihres Wissens in einem selbst gewählten Forschungsprojekt unter Beweis gestellt. Für den Erwerb des Masters sind Kreativität und Reflexionsfähigkeiten notwendig. Darüber hinaus müssen die Studierenden in der Lage sein, Ideen zu kommunizieren und sowohl auf Englisch als auch in ihrer Muttersprache zu arbeiten.

Integrative, interdisziplinäre Geographie
Die vielfältigen Forschungsinteressen der etwa 30 Forscherinnen und Forscher am Fachbereich Geographie machen den spezialisierten Master Dynamische Systeme in Glaziologie und Geomorphologie zu einem integrativen und interdisziplinären Studiengang. Neben den Schwerpunktthemen Kryosphäre, Glaziologie und alpine Geomorphologie ermöglichen wir auch integrative Ausbildungen gemeinsam mit Nachbardisziplinen des Departements, d.h. Humangeographie, Erdwissenschaften und Umweltwissenschaften. Während des Masterstudiums in Freiburg und insbesondere während der Erstellung der Masterarbeit sind die Studierenden in Forschungsteams integriert und können sich an den laufenden nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten beteiligen. Die überschaubare Grösse unseres vielfältigen Departements und unsere verschiedenen motivierten Forschungsgruppen erlauben es uns, allen Studierenden ein hilfsbereites und hochwertiges Umfeld zu bieten.

Kurs- und Vorlesungsorganisation
Alle Lehrveranstaltungen finden in englischer Sprache statt. Die Lehrveranstaltungen gliedern sich in vier Module und finden in Form von Vorlesungen, praktisch ausgerichteten Methodologieübungen, Seminaren, Exkursionen und Kolloquien statt. In jedem zweiten Jahr findet eine Exkursion in eine der Forschungsregionen des Teams statt (2009: Marokko; 2011: Namibia; 2013: Zentralasien; 2017: Kirgisistan; 2019: Grönland). Zusätzlich werden von den Studierenden organisierte Exkursionen innerhalb der Schweiz durchgeführt.

  1. Das Hauptmodul deckt die konzeptionellen und theoretischen Grundlagen in Geographie ab. Die Studierenden befassen sich mit den verschiedenen Ansätzen in Human- und Physischer Geographie auf Masterstufe sowie mit Methoden für die Datenerhebung und -analyse. In drei internen Kolloquienzyklen können die Studierenden ihr Wissen über die derzeitigen Forschungsthemen vertiefen.
  2. Im Spezialisierungsmodul werden den Studierenden vertiefte Kenntnisse im gewählten Fachgebiet vermittelt.
  3. Im Nebenmodul können die Studierenden ihr Studienprogramm um Kurse ergänzen, die mit ihrer Spezialisierung in Verbindung stehen. Sie können dabei aus einer breiten Palette von Lehrveranstaltungen der Universität Freiburg und anderer Universitäten auswählen. Je nach Vor- und Ausbildung können mit dem Nebenmodul auch Wissenslücken gefüllt werden.
  4. Die Masterarbeit wird unter der Leitung einer Professorin oder eines Professors erstellt und ist ein sehr wesentlicher Bestandteil des Programms.

Berufsperspektiven
Dieses Programm richtet sich an motivierte Studierende, die ihre berufliche Laufbahn z.B. mit einer Promotion in der Forschung fortsetzen möchten oder sich für eine Tätigkeit im öffentlichen Dienst oder in der Privatwirtschaft interessieren, z.B. in den Bereichen geowissenschaftliche Beratung, Umweltberatung und Umweltschutz, Risikoanalyse und -minderung, Dokumentation, öffentliche Institutionen oder internationale Organisationen. Der spezialisierte Master ist keine Zugangsberechtigung für die Ausbildung für den Unterricht an Maturitätsschulen (LDM) der Universität Freiburg.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 4 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/z3FE1

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum spezialisierten Master erfolgt auf der Grundlage eines Dossiers, gemäss den im Studienplan beschriebenen Bedingungen.
N.B. Studierende, die einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Geographie oder mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in Geographie erworben haben, sollten den Master in Geographie wählen (Option Dynamische Systeme in Glaziologie und Geomorphologie oder Natur, Gesellschaft und Politik).