Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Sport Sciences

Abstract

This study programme in sport sciences is based on the idea that to understand the issues of the future in relation to sports and well-being through motor activity calls for more in-depth knowledge, notably in the fields of movement and training, as well as in neuropsychology and sports education.
The Master's programme thus gives students the opportunity to increase the depth and scope of their acquired knowledge and to pursue the specialisation ( «Teaching» or «Health and Research» ) that they chose during their Bachelor's degree.
The fact that this course of study is taught at the Department of Medicine of the Faculty of Science and the special emphasis on a «class-seminar/workshop» structure, as well as the partnership with the Swiss Federal Institute of Sports Magglingen (SFISM) mean that the underlying conditions for teaching and research in the field of sport sciences are extremely favourable.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Alongside the complex cultural, social and economic phenomenon of movement and sport, there is an increasing interest in the study of the impact motor activities have on the development and maintenance of the individual's physical, mental and social life. This study programme in sport sciences is based on the idea that to understand the issues of the future in relation to sports and well-being through motor activity calls for more in-depth knowledge, notably in the fields of movement (biomechanics, motor learning and control) and training, as well as in neuropsychology (perception and movement control) and sports teaching. The fact that this course of study is taught at the Department of Medicine of the Faculty of Science and the partnership between the University of Fribourg and the Swiss Federal Institute of Sports Magglingen (SFISM) mean that the underlying conditions for teaching and research in the field of sport sciences are extremely favourable at this level of study.

Fribourg profile
This Master's programme gives students the opportunity, on the one hand, to gain further insights into movement and sport sciences, building on the knowledge they acquired at the Bachelor's level, and, on the other, to gain more in-depth, specialist knowledge in one of the two options:

  • Teaching
  • Health and Research

Whichever option they choose, students build on their knowledge of movement and training, sports psychology and education in a teaching structure based on classes/seminars and workshops. This type of organisation, which is specific to the University of Fribourg, places the emphasis on the relationship between theory and practice.
As far as the «specialisation» part is concerned, the content differs according to the option. The «Teaching» option focuses on applying scientific knowledge to physical, sports and artistic activities, further fostering the practical application of theoretical knowledge. Rounding out the course, students also learn transversal skills, such as communication or group management, which are necessary for future physical education and sports (EPS) teachers. The syllabus of the «Health and Research» option concentrates on health issues in relation to physiology, psychology and preventive physical activity. In addition to the coursework, students also complete two work placements in a laboratory and in a prevention or rehabilitation centre.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The purpose of sport sciences studies is to train future movement and health experts (researchers, teachers, stakeholders) and to provide them with the crucial tools for understanding and analysing scientific values and the legitimacy of movement and sport for today's and future societies. Whether training future EPS teachers or future researchers in health and prevention, this Master's programme is aimed first and foremost at teaching students methods of research, learning, training and communication, and to develop critical discernment.

The Teaching option
This specialisation is aimed at people who are interested in issues of training and educating young people through movement and sport. As sports coaches and practising sportsmen and women themselves, they develop expert know-how in the application of scientific knowledge to physical, sports and artistic activities. It opens the door to a career as an EPS teacher at secondary school level (for further information, see also «Teacher Education for Secondary Level»).
Students can also consider taking up teaching/research posts in sports technology and didactics in a university environment, or as heads of sport in public administration at the cantonal or national level.

The Health and Research option
This specialisation is aimed at people who are interested in promoting physical and sports activities for preventative health, and those with a keen interest in scientific research in this field. Students receive thorough training as movement specialists with in-depth scientific and practical knowledge enabling them to improve or evaluate programmes of training, prevention and rehabilitation through movement and sport. This Master's degree provides openings in the following careers:

  • Basic research in movement and sport sciences;
  • Preventive health measures and integration of health concepts in the public or private sector;
  • Functional rehabilitation in rehabilitation centres.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Sportwissenschaften

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Studienprogramm in Sportwissenschaften wurde eingeführt, da Studierende vertiefte Kenntnisse in vielfältigen Disziplinen benötigen, um die zukünftigen Herausforderungen im Sport und Wohlbefinden verstehen zu können. Dazu zählen insbesondere die Sport- und Bewegungswissenschaften sowie die Neuropsychologie und die Sportpädagogik.
Im Masterprogramm vertiefen und erweitern die Studierenden ihre Grundkenntnisse und spezialisieren sich ( «Unterricht» oder «Gesundheit und Forschung» ) auf die im Bachelor gewählte Orientierung.
Durch die Einbindung im Departement für Medizin der Mathematisch- Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät, die spezifische Unterrichtsform «Vorlesung-Seminar/Workshop» und die Zusammenarbeit mit der Eidgenössischen Hochschule für Sport Magglingen (EHSM) bietet das Studienprogramm hervorragende Unterrichts- und Forschungsbedingungen auf dem Gebiet der Sportwissenschaften.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Neben dem komplexen kulturellen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Phänomen der Bewegung und des Sports kommt ein immer stärkeres Interesse für die Erforschung des Einflusses der Bewegung auf den Körper, die Psyche und das Sozialleben der Menschen auf. Das Studienprogramm Sportwissenschaften wurde eingeführt, da Studierende vertiefte Kenntnisse in vielfältigen Disziplinen benötigen, um die zukünftigen Herausforderungen im Sport und Wohlbefinden verstehen zu können. Dazu zählen insbesondere die Sport- und Bewegungswissenschaften (Biomechanik, Lernverhalten und motorische Kontrolle), die Neuropsychologie (Wahrnehmung und Kontrolle der Bewegung) sowie die Sportpädagogik. Die Einbindung des Studienprogramms im Departement für Medizin der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Universität Freiburg und der Hochschule für Sport Magglingen (EHSM) bieten den Studierenden besonders vorteilhafte Unterrichts- und Forschungsbedingungen auf dem Gebiet der Bewegungs- und Sportwissenschaften.

Freiburger Profil
Im Masterstudium können die Studierenden einerseits die im Bachelor erworbenen Kenntnisse in den Sportwissenschaften und der Motorik erweitern und ergänzen und andererseits ihr spezifisches Know-how in der von ihnen gewählten Optionen vertiefen:

  • Unterricht
  • Gesundheit und Forschung

Unabhängig von der gewählten Option erfolgt die Vertiefung der Kenntnisse auf dem Gebiet Sport- und Bewegungswissenschaften, Psychologie und Sportpädagogik in Form von «Vorlesungen-Seminaren/Workshops». Diese einzigartige Organisation fördert die Verbindung von Theorie und Praxis.
Der Inhalt der jeweiligen «Spezialisierung» ist je nach Option unterschiedlich. Die Option «Unterricht» befasst sich mit der Anwendung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse auf körperliche, sportliche und künstlerische Tätigkeiten. Dies stärkt die enge Verbindung zwischen Theorie und Praxis. Der Studiengang kann durch Soft Skills, zum Beispiel in Kommunikation oder Gruppenmanagement, ergänzt werden. Diese Kompetenzen sind für die zukünftigen Sportlehrerinnen und Sportlehrer erforderlich. In der Option «Gesundheit und Forschung» wird der Schwerpunkt auf Gesundheitsfragen gelegt, und zwar auf physiologischer und psychologischer Ebene sowie in der Prävention durch Bewegung. Der Studiengang wird durch zwei Praktika in einem Labor und einem Präventions- oder Rehabilitationszentrum abgerundet.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Das Studium der Sportwissenschaften dient der Ausbildung zukünftiger Expertinnen und Experten (Forscher, Lehrer, Akteure) im Bereich der Bewegung und der Gesundheit. Es gibt den Studierenden die erforderlichen Werkzeuge mit auf den Weg, um die wissenschaftlichen Werte und den Nutzen von Bewegung und Sport für unsere aktuelle und zukünftige Gesellschaft verstehen und analysieren zu können. Das Studienprogramm richtet sich sowohl an angehende Sportlehrerinnen und Sportlehrer als auch an die zukünftigen Präventions- und Gesundheitsforscher. Im Masterstudium lernen sie in erster Linie, die Forschungs-, Lern-, Trainings- und Kommunikationsmethoden zu nutzen und ihr kritisches Denken zu entwickeln.

Die Orientierung Unterricht
Diese Orientierung richtet sich an Personen, die sich für die Herausforderungen der Ausbildung von Jugendlichen durch Bewegung und Sport interessieren. Als Ausbildner und Sportler entwickeln die Studierenden spezifisches Fachwissen in der Umsetzung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse auf körperliche, sportliche und künstlerische Aktivitäten. Die Ausbildung führt zum Sportlehrerberuf in Sekundarschulen (weitere Informationen siehe «Unterricht auf der Sekundarstufe»).
Die Studierenden können ausserdem für Lehr-/Forschungsstellen im Bereich Technik und Didaktik sportlicher Aktivitäten im universitären Umfeld oder als Sportverantwortliche in kantonalen oder nationalen Verwaltungen tätig sein.

Die Orientierung Gesundheit und Forschung
Diese Orientierung richtet sich an Personen, die sich für die Förderung körperlicher und sportlicher Tätigkeiten zu Präventionszwecken interessieren. Zudem steht sie Personen offen, die sich für die wissenschaftliche Forschung auf diesem Gebiet begeistern. Die Studierenden erhalten eine solide Ausbildung als Bewegungsspezialisten mit wissenschaftlichen Kenntnissen und vertiefter Praxiserfahrung. Sie sind in der Lage, Programme für Training, Prävention und Rehabilitation durch Sport und Bewegung zu entwerfen, zu verbessern oder auszuwerten. Den Absolventinnen und Absolventen dieses Masterprogramms stehen folgende Berufsfelder offen:

  • Grundlagenforschung im Bereich Bewegungs- und Sportwissenschaften;
  • Prävention und Integration von Gesundheitskonzepten im öffentlichen oder privaten Sektor;
  • Rehabilitation in Rehazentren.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 3 Semester

Studienplan

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_d.php

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf den im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten auf.

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Masterprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).