Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Psychology

Abstract

The Master's in Psychology aims to provide students with a deeper theoretical understanding of a number of domains in Psychology. You will gain knowledge of the principle scientific concepts and methodologies from several domains in Psychology, further understand the application of these concepts and methods in diverse settings (e.g. hospitals, organisations, schools, and research) and gain practical expertise. With this knowledge, on completing the Master's you will therefore be prepared to enter various fields in Psychology: Clinical, Health, Organisational, Educational, Neuropsychology and Human Factors and Ergonomics. The Master's also provides a sound base for beginning a PhD in Psychology, or collaborating in research projects. The teaching provision in the Master's is distinguished by the individual nature of the supervision provided for students. Class sizes remain small, while at the same time registrations for each subject are not restricted. The wide range of external contributors from research and applied domains also enriches the teaching and learning experience of the Master's.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The teaching provision comprises four different strands:

  1. The Cognitive Neuroscience strand provides an understanding of the neurocognitive mechanisms that subtend human behaviour. Students will further their knowledge of recent research and acquire a high level of methodological competences to allow them to conduct quality research in cognitive neuroscience. Students will conduct a research project in cognitive neuroscience. Students will also have the option to complete research training in a clinical or industrial environment, or in an area of research linked to psychology. On completing the course, students will be prepared for a number of professional career options, including academic research, health organisations, neuropsychology, neuromarketing and neurodevelopment.
  2. The Clinical Psychology and Health Psychology strand addresses the main factors in psychological health and their physiological basis. Students will further their knowledge in key aspects of health, and the relationship between psychological and physical health. The course covers health at all ages in the lifespan and focuses on the role of the family and interpersonal relationships in particular. Students must complete a research project. For the project you will collaborate with one of the groups in Clinical Psychology on one of their current research topics. Students also have the option to complete an internship at the Centre of Psychotherapy and the Centre of Psychological Counselling at the Institute for family research and counseling. This training gives you the opportunity to gain theoretical and practical knowledge which will prepare you for future practice in a hospital, clinic, counselling centre, institute of public and preventative health, or for academic research.
  3. The Developmental and School Psychology strand addresses the changes and different stages of development experienced throughout the lifespan. Students will further their knowledge of recent theory and research about development and learning in typical and clinical child groups. Students will complete a research project in developmental or schools psychology. You will also have the option to complete an internship in a school, or clinic, or to participate in a research project in a related area. On completing the programme you will be prepared for a professional career in a number of different environments, such as an institute for children and adolescents, a schools psychological service, an institute for public health, or for academic or applied research.
  4. The Work and Organisational Psychology strand covers the central themes of Work and Organisational Psychology, focussing on ergonomics and occupational health. Students will further their theoretical and methodological knowledge regarding diagnostics and intervention at the workplace. Students will complete a research project in the domain of their choice, either in a workplace environment or in the laboratory. You will also have the option to complete an internship to allow you to put into practice the skills and knowledge you have acquired. On completing the programme you will be able to choose a professional career in a variety of domains, such as product development, consultancy, or health promotion.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credits in a specialisation programme, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/KPf5R (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/V1YTP (German)

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme and as a specialisation programme (30 ECTS credits).

Minor study programmes to be chosen

Psychology

The Master's in Psychology aims to provide students with a deeper theoretical understanding of a number of domains in Psychology. You will gain knowledge of the principle scientific concepts and methodologies from several domains in Psychology, further understand the application of these concepts and methods in diverse settings (e.g. hospitals, organisations, schools, and research) and gain practical expertise. With this knowledge, on completing the Master's you will therefore be prepared to enter various fields in Psychology: Clinical, Health, Organisational, Educational, Neuropsychology and Human Factors and Ergonomics. The Master's also provides a sound base for beginning a PhD in Psychology, or collaborating in research projects. The teaching provision in the Master's is distinguished by the individual nature of the supervision provided for students. Class sizes remain small, while at the same time registrations for each subject are not restricted. The wide range of external contributors from research and applied domains also enriches the teaching and learning experience of the Master's.

More info

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Psychologie

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Ziel des Masterstudiums für Psychologie ist es, das theoretische Wissen in verschiedenen Domänen der Psychologie zu vertiefen. Der Hauptfokus liegt dabei auf dem Erlernen von wissenschaftlichen Methoden, der Vertiefung des wissenschaftlichen Verständnisses sowie der Anwendung des erworbenen Wissens in verschiedenen Arbeitsfeldern (Klinik, Unternehmen, Schule, Institutionen, Forschung) und dem Erlernen von praktischen Fähigkeiten. Die angebotene Ausbildung bietet ihren Absolventinnen und Absolventen einen idealen Einstieg in verschiedene Berufsfelder der Psychologie, wie z.B. in die Klinische und Gesundheitspsychologie, die Personalpsychologie, Schulpsychologie, Neuropsychologie und Ergonomie. Zusätzlich ist der Master in Psychologie eine optimale Grundlage für die Arbeit in Forschungsprojekten und für die Vorbereitung und Ausarbeitung einer wissenschaftlichen Dissertation. Das Masterstudium an der Universität Fribourg zeichnet sich durch eine gute und individuelle Betreuung der Studierenden während des Studiums und während der Erstellung der Masterarbeit aus. Die Studierendenzahlen sind überschaubar, die Anzahl der Plätze pro Kurs sind meist nicht begrenzt, und die Atmosphäre ist familiär. Das Lehrangebot ist reichhaltig und wird zusätzlich durch externe, häufig internationale Personen aus der Forschung und der Praxis ergänzt.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Studienangebot umfasst neben einem allgemeinen Teil die Wahl von einer von vier vertiefenden Ausrichtungen. Eine zweite Ausrichtung kann zusätzlich als weitere Spezialisierung gewählt werden.

  1. Die Ausrichtung Kognitive Neurowissenschaften hat den Schwerpunkt auf den neurokognitiven Mechanismen und Grundlagen des menschlichen Denkens, Verhaltens und Fühlens. Studierende dieses Studienprogramms vertiefen ihr Wissen in aktuellen, neurowissenschaftlichen Themengebieten und erwerben Methodenkompetenz in modernen bildgebenden Verfahren der Hirnforschung, um Forschung im neurokognitiven Bereich auf höchsten Niveau durchführen zu können. Studierende dieser Orientierung müssen ihre Masterarbeit im Bereich der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften durchführen. Praktische Erfahrungen können in der Forschung, im klinischen Bereich oder auch in der Industrie gemacht werden. Absolventinnen und Absolventen dieser Studienausrichtung können wählen zwischen beruflichen Karieren in der Wissenschaft und Forschung, der Klinischen Psychologie, Psychotherapie, Gesundheitspsychologie, Neuropsychologie, Neuromarketing sowie der neurokognitiven Entwicklung.
  2. Die Ausrichtung Klinische Psychologie und Gesundheitspsychologie hat den Fokus auf der psychischen Gesundheit des Menschen und ihren psychischen und physiologischen Grundlagen. Studierende dieser Ausrichtung vertiefen ihre Kenntnisse über die grundlegenden Faktoren der Gesundheit und ihren Zusammenhang mit den psychischen und körperlichen Einflüssen. Das Studienprogramm umfasst die Klinische Psychologie der gesamten Lebensspanne und hat einen Schwerpunkt auf die Familienpsychologie, Psychotherapie und die Interpersonelle Psychologie. Studierende dieser Ausrichtung wählen eine Masterarbeit aus den verschiedenen Abteilungen der Klinischen und Gesundheitspsychologie. Praktische Erfahrungen können in der Psychotherapeutischen Ambulanz, in Beratungsstellen des Familieninstituts erworben oder in externen Institutionen erworben werden. Diese Studienausrichtung beinhaltet den Erwerb von Störungs- und Interventionswissen im Bereich der Klinischen und Gesundheitspsychologie, die eine ideale Grundlage bilden für berufliche Tätigkeiten als Psychotherapeutin oder Psychotherapeut, in der Klinik, in Beratungs- und Präventionsstellen sowie in der akademischen Forschung.
  3. Die Ausrichtung Entwicklungs- und Schulpsychologie fokussiert auf die psychischen Veränderungen des Menschen im Laufe der gesamten Lebensspanne. Studierende dieser Ausrichtung vertiefen ihr Wissen und ihre Kenntnisse über aktuelle Theorien und Forschungsergebnisse der menschlichen Entwicklung sowie des schulischen Lernens von typischen und nicht-typischen Kindern. Studierende dieser Ausrichtung erarbeiten ihre Masterarbeit innerhalb der Abteilungen der Entwicklungs- oder Schulpsychologie. Praktische Erfahrungen sollten in einer schulischen Umgebung, in der Klinik oder der psychologischen Forschung gesammelt werden. Absolventinnen und Absolventen dieser Studienrichtung können zwischen beruflichen Karieren in verschiedenen Bereichen wählen, z.B. innerhalb von Bildungsinstitutionen für Kinder und Erwachsene, in schulpsychologischen Beratungsstellen, in der Gesundheitspsychologie und in der akademischen Forschung.
  4. Die Ausrichtung Arbeits- und Organisationpsychologie fokussiert auf ergonomische und gesundheitliche Aspekte der Erwerbsarbeit. Studierende vertiefen Wissen und Fertigkeiten im Bereich von Diagnostik und Intervention. Die Masterarbeit kann entweder in einem der beteiligten Abteilungen oder in Kooperation mit Unternehmen und Firmen geschrieben werden. Zusätzlich können praktische Erfahrungen im Firmenkontext gesammelt werden. Absolventinnen und Absolventen dieser Studienausrichtung erhalten eine fundierte Ausbildung für verschiedene berufliche Arbeitsfelder, wie z.B. in der Personalentwicklung, Produktentwicklung, Beratung/Coaching sowie der Gesundheitsförderung.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte + 30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in einem Spezialisierungsprogramm, 4 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/V1YTP

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf den im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten auf.

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Masterprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm und als Spezialisierungsprogramm angeboten (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).

Nebenprogramme nach Wahl

Psychologie

Das Ziel des Masterstudiums für Psychologie ist es, das theoretische Wissen in verschiedenen Domänen der Psychologie zu vertiefen. Der Hauptfokus liegt dabei auf dem Erlernen von wissenschaftlichen Methoden, der Vertiefung des wissenschaftlichen Verständnisses sowie der Anwendung des erworbenen Wissens in verschiedenen Arbeitsfeldern (Klinik, Unternehmen, Schule, Institutionen, Forschung) und dem Erlernen von praktischen Fähigkeiten. Die angebotene Ausbildung bietet ihren Absolventinnen und Absolventen einen idealen Einstieg in verschiedene Berufsfelder der Psychologie, wie z.B. in die Klinische und Gesundheitspsychologie, die Personalpsychologie, Schulpsychologie, Neuropsychologie und Ergonomie. Zusätzlich ist der Master in Psychologie eine optimale Grundlage für die Arbeit in Forschungsprojekten und für die Vorbereitung und Ausarbeitung einer wissenschaftlichen Dissertation. Das Masterstudium an der Universität Fribourg zeichnet sich durch eine gute und individuelle Betreuung der Studierenden während des Studiums und während der Erstellung der Masterarbeit aus. Die Studierendenzahlen sind überschaubar, die Anzahl der Plätze pro Kurs sind meist nicht begrenzt, und die Atmosphäre ist familiär. Das Lehrangebot ist reichhaltig und wird zusätzlich durch externe, häufig internationale Personen aus der Forschung und der Praxis ergänzt.

Weitere Infos