Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Biochemistry

Abstract

The Bachelor's programme in biochemistry is devoted to the study of fundamental chemical and physical processes in living organisms. It comprises molecular studies with a specific focus on enzymes and their role as catalysts in chemical reactions. A main interest is the study of cellular functions including the mechanisms involved in cell proliferation and development. Students also learn techniques for analyzing DNA and genetic information as an integral part of the study program. The biochemistry course thus gives students an opportunity to familiarize themselves with practical laboratory methods that are applied in several disciplines. It requires knowledge of the research tools used in chemistry and biology (microscopy, spectrometry, DNA sequencing, etc.). A command of bioinformatics tools is also essential to be able to store, manage and interpret the overwhelming volume of data provided by current analytical techniques.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Biochemistry involves the study of fundamental chemical and physical processes within living organisms. It focuses especially on molecules such as proteins, lipids, carbohydrates and nucleic acids. The topics studied cover fundamental functional aspects of cells and organisms in the context of human medicine, molecular biology, microbiology, environmental science, industry and biotechnology. Biochemistry encompasses first and foremost the study of enzymes, which are proteins that catalyze chemical reactions. These enzymes form metabolic pathways through which molecular components are synthesized and transformed. The regulation and orchestration of bio-synthetic and bio-degradative pathways, the control of cellular reactions in response to environmental factors, cell division, cellular senescence, and programmed cell death (apoptosis) are all extensively studied topics. Furthermore, since all the information that determines form, growth, as well as distinct biological features, is contained in the DNA of a given species or the respective organisms, the molecular processes that enable duplication, repair, interpretation and modification of genetic material also form an integral part of the theoretical and practical studies in biochemistry.

It is worth noting that biochemical processes have the enormous advantage of taking place at room temperature and in aqueous solutions. Biochemical methods therefore often allow the production and synthesis of application-oriented molecules in both an elegant and environmentally safe manner. Given the great sensitivity of enzymes, their highly specific role and their power as catalysts, biochemical methods are playing an ever more important role in analytical techniques. The great leaps in progress achieved in pharmacology, medical diagnostics, preventive medicine (vaccination), food technology, agro-chemistry and environmental technology are thus due to a large extent to our understanding of the underlying biochemical processes.

Modern biology has become a trans-disciplinary science. The corresponding concepts derive from various disciplines, which not only include biochemistry, but also for instance developmental, evolutionary, and behavioral biology. As a result, biochemistry students are obliged to familiarize themselves with a variety of modern practical methods (e.g., optical and electronic microscopy, X-ray diffraction, mass spectrometry, and DNA sequencing) and with concepts of numerous disciplines. Moreover, life sciences benefit from of a flow of continuous technical innovation, which renders analytical tools increasingly sensitive and effective. The latest analytical instruments produce data at such speed and in such quantities that simply storing the information is becoming a problem. Bioinformatics tools provide a means of analyzing large data set according to intelligent criteria. Modern biochemists have to familiarize themselves with these bioinformatics tools and learn how to put the large number of databases containing invaluable information to good use. Researchers no longer spend their time simply generating data, but also in analyzing and comparing their own data with the ones from their peers.

Academic and professional openings
In a century which seems set to become a «century of nano-science and bioscience», trained biochemists face a vast array of career opportunities.

Ideally followed by a Master of Science in Biology (Option: Biochemistry), this Bachelor's degree prepares the future graduates for work in the area of research and technological development focusing on biology, biochemistry or nano-technology primarily within a variety of academic or entrepreneurial, private settings (e.g., agro-chemistry, pharmacology, or biotechnology). This degree therefore opens the doors to a career in either the public or private work environment, be it in in a laboratory, or in an administrative position dealing for instance with patents, environmental protection, health care, or agriculture.

Biochemists with a Master's degree can continue to obtain a science doctorate in a university or specialized research institute. The professional openings for students who have successfully obtained their doctorate are similar, but with a higher degree of responsibility. For example, a Ph.D. followed by a post-doctorate training course is the ideal career path for a post as head of a research unit or as a university professor.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits + 60 ECTS credits in one or two minor study programmes freely chosen, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Biochemie

Kurzbeschreibung

Dieses Bachelorprogramm befasst sich mit dem Studium der chemischen und physikalischen Prozesse, die den Lebensvorgängen zugrunde liegen. Es umfasst die Moleküle und dabei insbesondere die Enzyme in ihrer Rolle als Katalysatoren chemischer Reaktionen. Untersucht werden die Funktionsweise der Zellen sowie die Substanzen und Mechanismen der Zellsynthese und -entwicklung. Zudem ist auch das Erlernen der Analyse von DNA und genetischen Informationen fester Bestandteil des Studiengangs.
Das Biochemiestudium ermöglicht es den Studierenden, sich mit der Laborarbeit und den Methoden verschiedener Disziplinen vertraut zu machen. Die Studierenden müssen mit den in der Chemie und der Biologie verwendeten Forschungsinstrumenten vertraut sein (Mikroskopie, Spektrometrie, DNA-Sequenzierung usw.). Auch die Bioinformatik ist für die Aufbewahrung, Verwaltung und Auswertung umfangreicher Datensätze aus den heutigen Analysetechniken nicht mehr wegzudenken.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Die Biochemie untersucht die den Lebensvorgängen zugrunde liegenden chemischen und physikalischen Prozesse. Sie interessiert sich insbesondere für Moleküle wie Proteine, Fette, Kohlenhydrate und Nukleinsäuren. Erforscht werden grundlegende Aspekte zur Funktionsweise der Zellen und Organismen unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Medizin, der Molekularbiologie, der Mikrobiologie, der Umweltwissenschaften, der Industrie und der Biotechnologie.
Die Biochemie befasst sich in erster Linie mit den Enzymen. Es sind dies Proteine, die chemische Reaktionen katalysieren. Sie bilden die Stoffwechselwege, über die molekulare Bausteine synthetisiert und umgewandelt werden. Regulation und Harmonisierung des Auf- und Abbaus solcher Strukturen, die Kontrolle über die Reaktion der Zellen auf Umwelteinflüsse, Spaltung, Zerfall und Selbstbeseitigung der Zellen (Apoptose) werden ebenfalls intensiv behandelt. Da alle Informationen zu Form, Wachstum und biologischen Besonderheiten in der DNA der Spezies und des Individuums gespeichert werden, ist es zudem offensichtlich, dass molekulare Verfahren zur Duplizierung, Wiederherstellung, Auswertung und Veränderung des Genmaterials fester Bestandteil des biochemischen Studiums sein müssen.

Was die Anwendungen betrifft, so bieten biochemische Stoffumwandlungen den grossen Vorteil, bei Raumtemperatur und in wässriger Lösung abzulaufen. Somit können sie Ausgangspunkt für schonende und umweltverträgliche Produktionsmethoden sein. Dank der grossen Empfindlichkeit und Selektivität der Enzyme und der von ihnen katalysierten Reaktionen spielt die Biochemie eine zunehmende Rolle in der Analytik und Messtechnik. Die grossen Fortschritte in der Pharmakologie, der medizinischen Diagnostik, der Prävention von viralen und bakteriellen Infektionskrankheiten, der Lebensmitteltechnologie, der Agrochemie und der Umwelttechnologie sind in erster Linie auf Erkenntnisse der biochemischen Grundprozesse zurückführbar.

Die moderne Biologie, zu der auch die Biochemie gehört, ist eine fächerübergreifende Wissenschaft geworden. Sie bedient sich der Konzepte und Instrumente der Chemie und Biochemie, der optischen und elektronischen Mikroskopie, der Röntgenbeugung, der Massenspektrometer, der DNA-Sequenzierung sowie der Konzepte aus der Evolutions- und Entwicklungsbiologie bis hin zum Verhalten und der Sozialisierung der Organismen. Die Studierenden müssen sich mit der Laborarbeit und den Methoden und Konzepten dieser Fachrichtungen vertraut machen. Der Bereich Life Sciences ist zudem in ständigem technologischem Wandel, von Jahr zu Jahr werden die Analyseinstrumente leistungsfähiger. Anhand dieser Instrumente können Daten in hoher Geschwindigkeit und grossem Umfang produziert werden, was Schwierigkeiten bei der Speicherung von Messinformationen zur Folge hat. Mithilfe der Bioinformatik können heute riesige Datenmengen nach intelligenten Kriterien analysiert werden. Moderne Biochemikerinnen und Biochemiker müssen mit den Instrumenten der Bioinformatik vertraut sein und lernen, die zahlreichen Datenbanken mit wertvollen Informationen sinnvoll einzusetzen. Forscherinnen und Forscher verbringen ihre Zeit nicht mehr nur mit der Erstellung von Daten, sondern auch mit der Auswertung und dem Vergleich der von Fachkollegen generierten Daten.

Akademische und berufliche Perspektiven
Mit einer Ausbildung in Biochemie eröffnet sich den Studierenden ein breites Spektrum an attraktiven Perspektiven. In der Tat scheint dieses Jahrhundert zum «Jahrhundert der Nano- und Biowissenschaften» zu werden.

Das Bachelorstudium, das im Idealfall durch den Master of Science in Biology (Option: Biochemie) ergänzt wird, bereitet die Absolventinnen und Absolventen auf eine Tätigkeit in der Forschung und der technologischen Entwicklung mit biologischer, biochemischer oder nanotechnischer Ausrichtung vor. Dabei können sie in verschiedenen akademischen Feldern oder in Unternehmen tätig sein (Agrochemie, Pharma, Biotechnologie). Das Studium eröffnet den Zugang zu Tätigkeiten im Labor- oder Verwaltungsumfeld sowie in öffentlichen oder privaten Dienststellen im Bereich Patente, Umwelt, Gesundheit und Landwirtschaft.

Absolventinnen und Absolventen mit einem Master-Abschluss können sich an Hochschulen oder spezialisierten Forschungsinstituten um ein Doktorat der Naturwissenschaften bewerben. Die Berufsperspektiven nach dem Erhalt des Doktorats befinden sich in denselben Sektoren, beziehen sich jedoch auf leitende Positionen mit mehr Verantwortung. Ein Doktorat mit einer zusätzlichen Ausbildung für Postdoktoranden ist beispielsweise der beste Weg in Richtung Forschung oder universitäre Lehrtätigkeit.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte + 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in einem oder zwei Nebenprogrammen nach Wahl, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/0fTFn

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-admission-swiss-certificates

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-admission-countries
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).