Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

Biochemistry

Fribourg profile

The Department of Biology offers a PhD curriculum in Biochemistry. This programme is fully given in English and comprises a personal research project to be taken over 3-4 years. It also includes seminars and lectures according to the bylaws of the Fribourg Graduate School of Life Sciences (FGLS).

The biochemistry laboratories at the University of Fribourg put special emphasis on investigating the mechanisms that control homeostasis and growth control in model organisms. They investigate the genes, proteins, and metabolites and their interactions with each other.

Biochemistry is an interdisciplinary science: besides organic chemistry it can also include developmental, evolutionary, and behavioral biology. Students are therefore trained on a variety of modern practical methods (e.g., optical and electronic microscopy, X-ray diffraction, mass spectrometry, and DNA sequencing). Moreover, life sciences benefit from of a flow of continuous technical innovation, which renders analytical tools increasingly sensitive and effective. The latest analytical instruments produce data at such speed and in such quantities that simply storing the information require the usage of bioinformatics. As a consequence, PhD students in Biochemistry can analyze and compare their own data with the ones from their peers.

PhD students learn how to conduct a research project in an independent manner. They will also gain competence in interpreting scientific data, presenting them, and putting them into a general context. PhD students participate at national and international scientific meetings in order to broaden their knowledge and to establish a scientific and social network.

PhD students in the Department of Biology are remunerated according to standards of the Faculty of Science.

To register to the doctoral programme, candidates select a laboratory in which they plan to carry out their PhD. They read the relevant publications and then contact the group leader to ask for a possible opening.

Alternatively, candidates look for openings that are posted by the FGLS. The selection procedure is carried out twice a year. It comprises a 15-minute oral presentation and discussions with the various group leaders.

A non-exhaustive list of laboratories includes:

  • Prof. Joern Dengjel

– Protein homeostasis in health and disease

  • Prof. Roger Schneiter

– Lipid homeostasis in yeast

  • Prof Urs Albrecht

– Circadian rhythms in mammals

  • Prof Claudio De Virgilio

– Cell proliferation and growth control in yeast

Please refer to the internet link below for a complete an updated list (see Contact).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

http://www.unifr.ch/biology/studies/fgls

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 
 

Biochemie

Freiburger Profil

Das Departement für Biologie bietet ein Doktoratsprogramm in Biochemie an. Das Programm wird vollständig in englischer Sprache durchgeführt und umfasst ein persönliches Forschungsprojekt, das in einem Zeitrahmen von drei bis vier Jahren abzuwickeln ist. Darüber hinaus besteht das Doktoratsprogramm aus Seminaren und Vorlesungen gemäss den Statuten der Fribourg Graduate School of Life Sciences (FGLS).

Die biochemischen Labore der Universität Freiburg legen einen besonderen Schwerpunkt auf die Erforschung der Mechanismen, die die Homeostase und die Wachstumskontrolle in Modellorganismen steuern. Untersucht werden die Gene, Proteine und Stoffwechselprodukte sowie deren Interaktionen untereinander.

Die Biochemie ist eine interdisziplinäre Wissenschaft: Neben der organischen Chemie können auch die Entwicklungs-, die Evolutions- und die Verhaltensbiologie einfliessen. Die Studentinnen und Studenten werden daher in einer Reihe moderner praktischer Methoden geschult (darunter optische und elektronische Mikroskopie, Brechung von Röntgenstrahlung, Massenspektrometrie und DNA-Sequenzierung). Ferner gibt es in den Biowissenschaften ständig technische Innovationen, wodurch die Analysewerkzeuge immer empfindlicher und effektiver werden. Die neusten Analyseinstrumente produzieren so grosse Datenmengen in einer so hohen Geschwindigkeit, dass die einfache Datenspeicherung bereits den Einsatz von Bioinformatik voraussetzt. Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in Biochemie können daher ihre eigenen Daten analysieren und mit denen ihrer Fachkolleginnen und -kollegen vergleichen.

Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden lernen, ein Forschungsprojekt auf unabhängige Art und Weise durchzuführen. Darüber hinaus werden sie in der Interpretation und Präsentation wissenschaftlicher Daten ausgebildet und lernen, diese in einen allgemeinen Kontext einzuordnen. Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden nehmen an internationalen wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen teil, um ihr Wissen zu erweitern und ein wissenschaftliches und soziales Netzwerk aufzubauen.

Die Entlöhnung der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden im Departement für Biologie richtet sich nach den Standards der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Um sich für das Doktoratsprogramm anzumelden, wählen die Bewerber ein Labor aus, in dem sie ihre Dissertationsarbeit erstellen möchten. Nachdem sie die relevanten Veröffentlichungen konsultiert haben, wenden sie sich an den Gruppenleiter, der ihnen Auskunft über offene Stellen gibt.

Die Bewerber können auch die offenen Stellen der FGLS konsultieren. Das Auswahlverfahren findet zwei Mal jährlich statt und besteht aus einer 15-minütigen mündlichen Präsentation und Gesprächen mit den verschiedenen Gruppenleitern.

Die folgende Liste von Laboren erhebt keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit:

  • Prof. Joern Dengjel

– Proteinhomeostase bei Gesundheit und Krankheit

  • Prof. Roger Schneiter

– Lipidhomeostase bei Hefe

  • Prof. Urs Albrecht

– Biorhythmus von Säugetieren

  • Prof. Claudio De Virgilio

– Zellvermehrung und Wachstumskontrolle bei Hefe

Für eine vollständige und aktuelle Liste klicken Sie bitte auf den Internetlink (siehe Kontakt).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

Es können keine ECTS-Kreditpunkte erworben werden.

Doktoratsschule

http://www.unifr.ch/biology/studies/fgls

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum Doktorat setzt einen universitären Bachelor- und Masterabschluss oder einen gleichwertigen Studienabschluss einer von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten Universität voraus.

Es wird empfohlen, vor der Anmeldung eine Professorin oder einen Professor zu kontaktieren, die oder der bereit ist, die Dissertation zu betreuen.

Es besteht kein Anspruch darauf, zum Doktorat zugelassen zu werden.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Doktorats-Studienprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.