Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Biochemistry

Abstract

The Bachelor's programme in biochemistry is devoted to the study of fundamental chemical and physical processes in living organisms. It comprises molecular studies with a specific focus on enzymes and their role as catalysts in chemical reactions. A main interest is the study of cellular functions including the mechanisms involved in cell proliferation and development. Students also learn techniques for analyzing DNA and genetic information as an integral part of the study program. The biochemistry course thus gives students an opportunity to familiarize themselves with practical laboratory methods that are applied in several disciplines. It requires knowledge of the research tools used in chemistry and biology (microscopy, spectrometry, DNA sequencing, etc.). A command of bioinformatics tools is also essential to be able to store, manage and interpret the overwhelming volume of data provided by current analytical techniques.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Biochemistry involves the study of fundamental chemical and physical processes within living organisms. It focuses especially on molecules such as proteins, lipids, carbohydrates and nucleic acids. The topics studied cover fundamental functional aspects of cells and organisms in the context of human medicine, molecular biology, microbiology, environmental science, industry and biotechnology. Biochemistry encompasses first and foremost the study of enzymes, which are proteins that catalyze chemical reactions. These enzymes form metabolic pathways through which molecular components are synthesized and transformed. The regulation and orchestration of bio-synthetic and bio-degradative pathways, the control of cellular reactions in response to environmental factors, cell division, cellular senescence, and programmed cell death (apoptosis) are all extensively studied topics. Furthermore, since all the information that determines form, growth, as well as distinct biological features, is contained in the DNA of a given species or the respective organisms, the molecular processes that enable duplication, repair, interpretation and modification of genetic material also form an integral part of the theoretical and practical studies in biochemistry.

It is worth noting that biochemical processes have the enormous advantage of taking place at room temperature and in aqueous solutions. Biochemical methods therefore often allow the production and synthesis of application-oriented molecules in both an elegant and environmentally safe manner. Given the great sensitivity of enzymes, their highly specific role and their power as catalysts, biochemical methods are playing an ever more important role in analytical techniques. The great leaps in progress achieved in pharmacology, medical diagnostics, preventive medicine (vaccination), food technology, agro-chemistry and environmental technology are thus due to a large extent to our understanding of the underlying biochemical processes.

Modern biology has become a trans-disciplinary science. The corresponding concepts derive from various disciplines, which not only include biochemistry, but also for instance developmental, evolutionary, and behavioral biology. As a result, biochemistry students are obliged to familiarize themselves with a variety of modern practical methods (e.g., optical and electronic microscopy, X-ray diffraction, mass spectrometry, and DNA sequencing) and with concepts of numerous disciplines. Moreover, life sciences benefit from of a flow of continuous technical innovation, which renders analytical tools increasingly sensitive and effective. The latest analytical instruments produce data at such speed and in such quantities that simply storing the information is becoming a problem. Bioinformatics tools provide a means of analyzing large data set according to intelligent criteria. Modern biochemists have to familiarize themselves with these bioinformatics tools and learn how to put the large number of databases containing invaluable information to good use. Researchers no longer spend their time simply generating data, but also in analyzing and comparing their own data with the ones from their peers.

Academic and professional openings
In a century which seems set to become a «century of nano-science and bioscience», trained biochemists face a vast array of career opportunities.

Ideally followed by a Master of Science in Biology (Option: Biochemistry), this Bachelor's degree prepares the future graduates for work in the area of research and technological development focusing on biology, biochemistry or nano-technology primarily within a variety of academic or entrepreneurial, private settings (e.g., agro-chemistry, pharmacology, or biotechnology). This degree therefore opens the doors to a career in either the public or private work environment, be it in in a laboratory, or in an administrative position dealing for instance with patents, environmental protection, health care, or agriculture.

Biochemists with a Master's degree can continue to obtain a science doctorate in a university or specialized research institute. The professional openings for students who have successfully obtained their doctorate are similar, but with a higher degree of responsibility. For example, a Ph.D. followed by a post-doctorate training course is the ideal career path for a post as head of a research unit or as a university professor.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits + 60 ECTS credits in one or two minor study programmes freely chosen, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Biochimie

Résumé

Ce programme de Bachelor est consacré à l'étude des processus chimiques et physiques fondamentaux du vivant. Il comprend la connaissance des molécules et s'intéresse spécifiquement aux enzymes et leur rôle de catalyseurs de réactions chimiques. Il s'agit d'étudier le fonctionnement des cellules, des substances et mécanismes intervenant dans la synthèse et la transformation de leurs composantes. L'apprentissage des techniques permettant d'analyser l'ADN et les informations génétiques fait aussi partie intégrante du cursus. Les études de biochimie permettent donc de se familiariser avec le travail de laboratoire et avec les méthodes de plusieurs disciplines. Elles requièrent la connaissance des instruments de recherche utilisés en chimie et en biologie (microscopie, spectrométrie, séquençage d'ADN, génétique etc.). La maîtrise des outils bio-informatiques est également indispensable, afin de stocker, gérer et interpréter la quantité impressionnante de données fournies par les techniques d'analyse actuelles.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

La biochimie étudie les processus chimiques et physiques fondamentaux du vivant. Elle s'intéresse en particulier à des molécules telles que les protéines, les lipides, les glucides et les acides nucléiques. Les thèmes abordés couvrent des aspects fondamentaux sur le fonctionnement des cellules et des organismes dans le cadre de la médecine humaine, de la biologie moléculaire, de la microbiologie, des sciences de l'environnement, de l'industrie et de la biotechnologie.
La biochimie étudie principalement les enzymes, qui sont des protéines catalysant des réactions chimiques. Ces enzymes forment des voies métaboliques, par lesquelles les composants moléculaires sont synthétisés et transformés. La régulation et l'harmonisation des voies de synthèse et de dégradation, le contrôle des réactions de la cellule en fonction de l'environnement, la division des cellules et leur sénescence et auto-élimination (apoptose) sont autant de thèmes très étudiés. En outre, toute l'information déterminant la forme, la croissance, et la spécificité biologique étant contenue dans l'ADN de l'espèce et de l'individu, il est évident que les processus moléculaires permettant la duplication, la réparation, l'interprétation et la modification du matériel génétique font partie intégrante de la réflexion et de l'expérimentation biochimique.

Au niveau des applications on peut relever que les processus biochimiques ont l'énorme avantage de se dérouler à température ambiante et en solution aqueuse; ils permettent ainsi des méthodes de production élégantes et respectueuses de l'environnement. En raison de la très grande sensibilité et spécificité des enzymes et de leur haut pouvoir catalytique, la biochimie joue un rôle toujours plus important dans les techniques analytiques et les méthodes de mesures. Ainsi les grands progrès réalisés en pharmacologie, en diagnostic médical, en médecine préventive pour la vaccination, en technologie alimentaire, en agrochimie et en technologie de l'environnement, sont essentiellement dues à une compréhension biochimique des processus sous-jacents.

La biologie moderne, dont la biochimie fait partie, est devenue une science transdisciplinaire qui utilise les concepts et instruments de la chimie, de la biochimie, de la microscopie optique et électronique, de la diffraction de rayons X, de la spectrométrie de masse, du séquençage de l'ADN, des notions de biologie du développement et d'évolution, et jusqu'au comportement et la socialisation des organismes. Dès lors, les étudiantes et étudiants en biochimie doivent se familiariser avec le travail de laboratoire et avec les méthodes et concepts de ces nombreuses disciplines. De plus les sciences de la vie bénéficient d'une révolution technique permanente qui rend les instruments analytiques d'année en année plus performants. Ces instruments d'analyse produisent des données à une vitesse et en quantité telles, que le seul stockage de l'information devient problématique. Les outils bio-informatiques permettent d'analyser des quantités astronomiques de données selon des critères intelligents. La biochimiste ou le biochimiste d'aujourd'hui se doit de se familiariser avec les outils bio-informatiques et d'apprendre à faire bon usage du grand nombre de bases de données contenant de précieuses informations. La chercheuse ou le chercheur n'emploie plus uniquement son temps à générer des données, mais aussi à analyser et comparer des données générées par d'autres.

Débouchés académiques et professionnels
Une personne formée en biochimie a devant elle une vaste gamme de perspectives, dans ce siècle qui semble devenir «le siècle des nanosciences et des biosciences».

Les études de Bachelor, suivies idéalement du Master of Science in Biology (Option: Biochimie), préparent les diplômées et diplômés à une activité dans les domaines de la recherche et du développement technologique à orientation biologique, biochimique, ou nanotechnologique, principalement dans différents secteurs académiques ou en entreprise (agrochimie, pharmacologie, ou biotechnologie). Ces études peuvent donner accès à des emplois tant au niveau du laboratoire qu'au niveau administratif, dans les services publiques ou privés qui traitent de brevets, d'environnement, de santé ou d'agriculture.

Dans les hautes écoles ou dans des instituts de recherche spécialisés, les biochimistes disposant d'un Master pourront continuer leur formation vers un Doctorat ès Sciences. Les perspectives professionnelles après l'obtention d'un Doctorat se situent dans les mêmes secteurs, mais à des niveaux de responsabilité supérieurs. Un Doctorat suivi d'une formation postdoctorale représente par exemple la voie royale pour la direction de recherche ou le professorat universitaire.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS + 60 crédits ECTS dans un ou deux programmes d'études secondaires au choix, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/mjkY5

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle ou spécialisée complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/fr-admission-swisscertificates

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/fr-admission-country-list
De plus, les candidates étrangères et les candidats étrangers doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS).