Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Rhaeto-Romance

Abstract

The Master programme deepens the skills acquired during the Bachelor's course in Rhaeto-Romance language and literature. In the linguistics section, emphasis is placed on aspects of individual and societal multilingualism, as well as on more practical issues of the use and promotion of the language. The literary section of the course takes a more in-depth look at the literary traditions of the canton of Grisons, including in relation to neighbouring literary traditions, and with a particular focus on the critical application of theoretical models. An internship allows students to relate theory to actual fields of work. Graduates are qualified to work in Rhaeto-Romance institutions, the media or teaching, and research.
The Master programme requires thorough knowledge of at least one variant of Rhaeto-Romance. A number of lectures will be in German and/or French.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

In the Rhaeto-Romance Master programme, the competences acquired during the Bachelor's degree are systematised and critically applied. The programme consists of two compulsory 15 ECTS modules, both comprising lectures and classes on linguistics and literature.
In the linguistics section, the focus is on structural language description and sociolinguistics. In the first module, the students study theoretical literature at various linguistic levels of analysis and conduct their own empirical investigations. The second module looks at practical issues of the use and promotion of the language, individual and societal approaches to multilingualism, and the institutional documentation of the language and culture.
In the literary section of both modules, students look more deeply into the literary tradition of the Rhaeto-Romance-speaking canton of Grisons, including in relation to neighbouring literary traditions. Particular attention is paid to questions specific to the genre, as well as to the problems that arise when applying models of literary theory and criticism to a regional literature.
During their internship in a Rhaeto-Romance institution or one with links to such an institution (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Post da translaziun da la Chanzlia Chantunala, Radiotelevisiun Svizra Rumantscha, schools, Swiss Literary Archives etc.), students obtain insight into potential fields of work.

Fribourg profile
The University of Fribourg is the only higher education establishment in Switzerland apart from the University of Zurich to offer studies in Rhaeto-Romance language and literature. The Rhaeto-Romance course in Fribourg puts the emphasis on linguistics, whereby sociolinguistics and language-contact issues are given particular consideration. The study programme offers opportunities for collaboration within the subject area of Multilingualism Studies and Foreign Language Education, and exploits synergies with the Institute of Multilingualism. On behalf of the Swiss government, this Research Centre investigates current issues of Swiss language policy, schools and teaching, language skills and how to assess them, as well as migration and labour.

Learning outcomes and career openings
At the Master's level, students acquire sound, practice-related skills in Rhaeto-Romance language and literature. Graduates will have the capacity to conduct their own independent research and will have developed critical thinking skills. These skills are in demand in a variety of career fields, such as teaching at secondary level I or II, media (radio, press, TV, Internet), work in Rhaeto-Romance or Rhaeto-Romance-related language and cultural institutions (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Swiss Literary Archives etc.), translation and administration (Chanzlia Chantunala, Chanzlia Federala), the book industry and publishing, as well as in project work and research.
The Master's degree meets the requirements for admission to the Teaching Diploma for Academic Upper Secondary Schools (Diplôme d'enseignement pour les écoles de maturité, DEEM/Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen, LDM). Moreover, graduates are qualified to take up an academic career.
Given the relatively low number of university graduates in Rhaeto-Romance, people with that qualification are always in great demand on the labour market in Grisons, in the federal administration, universities and a variety of national research projects.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

30 ECTS credits as a minor study programme or a specialisation programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/lCeda (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/IaFd2 (German)

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Rhéto-roman

Résumé

Dans le cadre du programme de Master, les étudiantes et les étudiants approfondissent leurs connaissances en langue et littérature rhéto-romanes. En linguistique sont traités essentiellement les aspects liés au plurilinguisme dans ses composantes individuelles et sociales, ainsi que des questions pratiques relatives à l'utilisation et à la promotion de la langue. En littérature, il s'agit d'approfondir les traditions de la littérature rhéto-romane et les corrélations avec la littérature des régions voisines, une attention particulière étant accordée à la mise en application critique des modèles théoriques. Un stage permet de faire le lien avec le champ professionnel. Les titulaires de ce Master sont qualifiés pour travailler dans les institutions rhéto-romanes, des organes de presse, des écoles ainsi que dans le domaine de la recherche.
La maîtrise d'au moins une variante de rhéto-roman est indispensable pour pouvoir suivre ce programme de Master. Certains cours sont donnés en allemand et/ou en français.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Dans le cadre du programme de Master de rhéto-roman, les étudiantes et les étudiants systématisent et appliquent de façon critique leurs connaissances acquises au niveau Bachelor. Le programme se décompose en deux modules obligatoires valant 15 crédits ETCS chacun, comprenant des cours de linguistique et de littérature.
En linguistique, l'accent est porté sur une approche structurelle de la langue et sur la sociolinguistique. Le premier module confronte les étudiantes et les étudiants avec la théorie littéraire à différents niveaux d'analyse linguistique. Ils mènent par ailleurs des recherches empiriques de façon autonome. Les questions pratiques relatives à l'utilisation et à la promotion de la langue, le plurilinguisme dans ses composantes individuelles et sociales, ainsi que la documentation culturelle et linguistique institutionnelle sont au cœur du second module.
En littérature, les deux modules approfondissent les traditions de la littérature rhéto-romane et ses corrélations avec la littérature des régions voisines. Une attention particulière est portée aux questions d'ordre générique et aux problèmes posés par l'application des modèles critiques et théoriques de la littérature à une littérature régionale.
Un stage effectué auprès d'une institution rhéto-romane ou assimilée (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Post da translaziun da la Chanzlia Chantunala, Radiotelevisiun Svizra Rumantscha, écoles, Archives littéraires suisses, etc.) permet aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d'explorer les champs professionnels potentiels.

Profil fribourgeois
Les Universités de Zurich et de Fribourg sont les deux seules en Suisse à proposer un programme d'études en linguistique et en littérature rhéto-romanes. A Fribourg, où l'accent est mis sur la linguistique, une attention particulière est accordée aux questions d'ordre sociolinguistique et aux aspects liés au contact avec les langues. Le programme d'études proposé offre des possibilités de collaboration au sein du domaine d'études Plurilinguisme et didactique des langues étrangères. Il exploite en outre les synergies avec l'Institut de plurilinguisme. Sur mandat de la Confédération, ce centre de compétences scientifique s'intéresse aux questions actuelles liées à la politique linguistique en Suisse, à l'école et à l'enseignement, ainsi qu'aux compétences linguistiques et à leur évaluation, sans oublier la migration et le monde du travail.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Au niveau Master, les étudiantes et les étudiants acquièrent des compétences solides et axées sur la pratique en linguistique et en littérature rhéto-romanes. Les titulaires de ce Master sont en mesure de mener des recherches de façon autonome et font preuve d'un sens critique développé. Ces compétences sont recherchées dans divers domaines d'activité: enseignement au niveau secondaire I ou II, médias (radio, presse écrite, télévision, Internet), institutions linguistiques et culturelles rhéto-romanes ou assimilées (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Archives littéraires suisses, etc.), traduction et administration (Chanzlia Chantunala, Chanzlia Federala), industrie du livre et maisons d'édition, mais aussi le développement de projets et la recherche.
Ce programme de Master satisfait aux exigences à remplir pour l'accès au Diplôme d'enseignement pour les écoles de maturité (DEEM). Les diplômées et diplômés disposent des qualifications nécessaires pour entamer une carrière universitaire.
Les diplômées et diplômés en rhéto-roman sont peu nombreux, donc très recherchés sur le marché du travail dans le canton des Grisons, mais aussi par l'Administration fédérale et les hautes écoles. Leurs qualifications sont également très prisées pour divers projets de recherche nationaux.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

30 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires ou programme de spécialisation

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/lCeda

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.