Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Molecular Life and Health Sciences

Abstract

The Department of Biology of the Faculty of Science and Medicine offers this multidisciplinary master programme with five different options that address molecular aspects in organisms ranging from yeast to mammals. The Master of Science in Molecular Life and Health Sciences provides a solid background including aspects on understanding human disease and animal development. This programme gives to the student the opportunity to acquire advanced theoretical background on molecular topics, hands-on experience in the laboratory, and the ability to communicate science. Master's students are integrated in research teams and thus gain extensive experience in fundamental academic research.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The study of biology opens the doors to a fascinating world, from biomolecules and their regulation to the analysis of behaviour. The University of Fribourg offers a multidisciplinary study programme leading to the degree of Master of Science in Molecular Life and Health Sciences, placing a special emphasis on the development of students' scientific capabilities, such as independent thinking, problem-solving skills, critical evaluation of data, oral and written communication skills, and the ability to work in a team. English is the main language for all activities, but students can choose to take their exams in English, French or German.

As a master's student, you will deepen your knowledge of modern biological sciences and acquire techniques needed in basic research as well as in practical applications of academic research. The courses, obligatory and elective, are accompanied by discussions, presentations by students and project writing exercises. An agreement with the Universities of Bern and Neuchâtel (BENEFRI Framework Convention) allows you to take elective courses in these Institutions and have them credited for the study programme in Fribourg. The master thesis (60 ECTS credits for the 120 ECTS research options, and 45 ECTS credits for the 90 ECTS «Teaching» option) is carried out in one of the research teams, giving the student the opportunity to experience all aspects of the daily life of a research scientist, learning to plan, carry out, analyse, and present research. You may also have the possibility to participate in teaching practical courses and other assisting activities for which you are paid by the hour.

This consecutive Master of Science in Molecular Life and Health Sciences is accessible to students who have completed their Bachelor of Science in Biology or in Biochemistry at the University of Fribourg. Some restrictions apply, as outlined in the BSc and MSc study plans.

The Department of Biology of the Faculty of Science and Medicine offers five options for the Master of Science in Molecular Life and Health Sciences:

1. Developmental Biology and Regeneration (120 ECTS credits)
This option is centred on the molecular mechanisms that govern animal development in various model systems including the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster, the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans, the zebrafish Danio rerio, and marine chordates. Research groups investigate molecular aspects of regeneration, cell differentiation, epigenetics, gamete formation and aging. Our research focuses on fundamental aspects of molecular genetics and cell biology, and often correlates with perspectives on understanding human diseases. The tools employed are among others, molecular genetics, molecular biology, protein analysis, microscopy and imaging, and morphology.

2. Biochemistry and Cell Biology (120 ECTS credits)
This option puts special emphasis on molecular mechanisms regulating health and their dysregulation in disease. Biomolecules regulating the internal clock, nutrient sensing and growth control, lipid metabolism and membrane biogenesis, ribosome biogenesis, and stress responses are analysed by classical biochemical, 'omics', and computational biology approaches. In addition to mammals, especially human cell culture lines, the organisms studied are the mouse and the unicellular eukaryotic fungus Saccharomyces cerevisiae (Baker's yeast). The combination of model systems and approaches allows fascinating and detailed studies of gene functions, regulation of cell homeostasis and its dysregulation in human diseases.

3. Neurobiology (120 ECTS credits)
The brain remains one of the biggest unresolved mysteries in life sciences. This option is focussed on the nervous system, exploring how it functions on different conceptual levels, ranging from genes and genetics, over behaviour and circuits to neurodegeneration. An array of different animal models are used including the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster, the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans, the cnidarian Nematostella vectensis and the mouse. Research groups engage integrative approaches to investigate neural stem cells and cancer, cell differentiation and connectivity, sensory systems, behaviour, learning and memory, and neurodegeneration. The tools employed are molecular genetics, molecular biology, protein analysis, microscopy and imaging, behavioural analysis and many more.

4. Marine Biology (120 ECTS credits)
Oceans harbour the largest diversity of animals, are the core ecosystem impacting climate and are of large economical importance for food production. However, much remains unknown on the biodiversity of marine animals and particularly about the genomes, physiological and molecular adaptions in diverse environments. This option focuses on animals in the marine environment, their biodiversity, and investigates how relevant features emerged in evolution. It provides an overview on behavioural, molecular, physiological, neuronal and developmental mechanisms in Xenocoelomorpha, Cnidarians, Cephalopods and Tunicates. The curriculum includes several hands-on courses and workshops at leading Marine Stations in Europe.

5. Teaching (90 ECTS credits)
This option is only accessible to future teachers who need to acquire also 30 additional ECTS credits in a second teaching subject. The programme combines courses from the 4 research options above, as well as elective and practical courses on a wide range of biological topics, and will therefore be of particular interest to students wishing to bolster a broad vision of biology. Master's students are integrated in research teams and have the opportunity to experience all aspects of the life of a research scientist, gaining a solid experience in academic research on topics such as development and regeneration, neurobiology, cell biology, biochemistry, and marine biology.

Academic and professional openings
The 120 ECTS master programme in Molecular Life and Health Sciences prepares students for careers inside and outside academia. For example, holders of this MSc degree find job opportunities as researchers in biotech companies, in laboratories for quality control (pharmaceutical or alimentary industry), as laboratory manager, biosafety officer or scientific collaborator at various offices and departments of the Swiss Confederation, sales representative for biotech companies, and other jobs related to animal and human health, molecular life sciences, and biochemistry. It also gives access to the DEEM/LDM and is therefore suitable for future teachers at the secondary level II. In other words, with a master programme in Molecular Life and Health Sciences, you can apply for positions that require a solid knowledge in molecular biology, the ability to communicate and to view science under a critical angle, and practical experience and skills. The master's degree also paves the way to doctoral studies (PhD). During their PhD, students learn how to conduct independent research, receive a salary and are exposed to the international research community through meetings and publications. Doctoral studies followed by a postdoctoral experience represent the typical way to access academic positions as well as positions in the upper management of industry in Switzerland and abroad.
Although the 90 ECTS «Teaching» option is specifically designed for future teachers at secondary level II, students will be well prepared for careers inside and outside academia. The master programme in Molecular Life and Health Sciences, option «Teaching» also gives access to doctoral studies (PhD), but a complement of up to 30 ECTS credits might be required, depending on the institution.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits, 4 semesters
or
90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters (option «Teaching»)

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/z3FE1

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Sciences moléculaires du vivant et de la santé

Résumé

Le Département de biologie de la Faculté des sciences et de médecine propose ce programme de master multidisciplinaire avec cinq options, qui s'intéresse aux aspects moléculaires dans des organismes allant de la levure aux mammifères. Le master en sciences moléculaires du vivant et de la santé fournit un solide bagage permettant notamment de comprendre les maladies humaines et le développement animal. Ce programme donne aux étudiantes et étudiants l'opportunité d'acquérir des connaissances théoriques approfondies sur les mécanismes moléculaires, une expérience pratique en laboratoire et la capacité de transmettre des faits scientifiques. L'intégration dans des équipes de chercheurs permet d'obtenir une vaste expérience de la recherche fondamentale universitaire.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Les études de biologie ouvrent les portes d'un monde fascinant, allant des biomolécules et de leur régulation à l'analyse du comportement. L'Université de Fribourg propose un programme d'études multidisciplinaire débouchant sur un diplôme de Master of Science in Molecular Life and Health Sciences. Un accent particulier est porté sur le développement des compétences scientifiques des étudiantes et étudiants: réflexion autonome, résolution de problèmes, analyse critique de données, communication orale et écrite, capacité à travailler en équipe. Toutes les activités se déroulent essentiellement en anglais, mais le choix de la langue des examens est libre (anglais, français ou allemand).

Les étudiantes et étudiants de master approfondissent leurs connaissances en biologie moderne et acquièrent les techniques de la recherche fondamentale tout en se familiarisant avec les applications pratiques de la recherche universitaire. Les cours obligatoires et à option s'accompagnent de discussions, de présentations par les étudiantes et étudiants et d'exercices écrits sur des projets. Un accord avec les Universités de Berne et de Neuchâtel (convention-cadre BENEFRI) vous permet de suivre parallèlement les cours de votre choix dans ces deux institutions, cours qui sont crédités à votre programme d'études suivi à Fribourg. Le mémoire de master (60 crédits ECTS pour les quatre premières options à 120 crédits ECTS; 45 crédits ECTS pour l'option «Enseignement» à 90 crédits ECTS) est réalisé au sein de l'une des équipes de chercheurs. Les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent ainsi découvrir très concrètement tous les aspects du quotidien d'un scientifique. Ils apprennent aussi à planifier, réaliser, analyser et présenter des recherches. Autre opportunité potentielle: la participation à l'enseignement dans le cadre d'ateliers pratiques et d'autres activités d'assistanat, rémunérés à l'heure.

Le Master of Science in Molecular Life and Health Sciences est accessible aux étudiantes et étudiants ayant obtenu un Bachelor of Science en biologie ou biochimie à l'Université de Fribourg. Des restrictions peuvent s'appliquer (voir plans d'études du BSc et du MSc).

Le Département de biologie de la Faculté des sciences et de médecine propose cinq options pour le Master of Science in Molecular Life and Health Sciences:

1. Biologie du développement et régénération (120 crédits ECTS)
Cette option se concentre sur les mécanismes moléculaires qui régissent le développement animal via l'étude de divers systèmes modèles, dont la mouche drosophile (Drosophila melanogaster), le nématode (Caenorhabditis elegans), le poisson-zèbre (Danio rerio) et les chordés marins. Les groupes de chercheurs s'intéressent aux aspects moléculaires de la régénération, de la différenciation cellulaire, de l'épigénétique, de la formation des gamètes et du vieillissement. Nos recherches se focalisent sur les aspects fondamentaux de la génétique moléculaire et de la biologie cellulaire, et font souvent le lien avec des perspectives de compréhension des maladies humaines. Les outils utilisés sont, entre autres, la génétique moléculaire, la biologie moléculaire, l'analyse des protéines, la microscopie et l'imagerie, ainsi que la morphologie.

2. Biochimie et biologie cellulaire (120 crédits ECTS)
Cette option met un accent particulier sur les mécanismes moléculaires qui régulent la santé et sur leur dysfonctionnement en cas de maladie. Les structures biomoléculaires qui régulent l'horloge interne, la sensation de faim et la croissance, mais aussi le métabolisme lipidique et la biogénèse des membranes, la biogenèse des ribosomes ainsi que les réactions au stress sont analysés à l'aide de la biochimie classique, d'approches «omiques» et de la biologie computationnelle. En plus des mammifères et notamment des cultures cellulaires humaines, les organismes étudiés sont la souris et le champignon unicellulaire Saccharomyces cerevisiæ (la levure de boulanger). La combinaison des systèmes modèles et des approches permet une étude fascinante et précise des fonctions génétiques, de la régulation homéostatique et de leur dysfonctionnement dans le cadre des maladies humaines.

3. Neurobiologie (120 crédits ECTS)
Le cerveau reste l'un des plus grands mystères non résolus dans le domaine des sciences de la vie. Cette option est axée sur le système nerveux et l'étude de son fonctionnement à différents niveaux conceptuels, des gènes et de la génétique à la neurodégénération, en passant par le comportement et les circuits neuronaux. Un large éventail d'animaux modèles est étudié, notamment la mouche drosophile (Drosophila melanogaster), le nématode (Caenorhabditis elegans), l'anémone étoilée (Nematostella vectensis) et la souris. Les groupes de recherche font appel à des approches intégratives pour étudier les cellules souches neurales et le cancer, la différenciation et la connectivité cellulaires, les systèmes sensoriels, le comportement, les mécanismes d'apprentissage et la mémoire, mais aussi la neurodégénération. Les outils utilisés sont la génétique moléculaire, la biologie moléculaire, l'analyse des protéines, la microscopie et l'imagerie, l'analyse comportementale, etc.

4. Biologie marine (120 crédits ECTS)
Les océans abritent la plus grande diversité d'espèces animales de la planète. Ils constituent l'écosystème qui influence le plus le climat et revêtent une importance économique majeure pour la production alimentaire. Cependant, il reste encore beaucoup à découvrir sur la biodiversité des animaux marins, en particulier sur les génomes et les adaptations physiologiques et moléculaires dans divers environnements. Cette option se concentre sur les espèces animales des environnements marins et sur leur biodiversité. Elle s'intéresse aux processus ayant débouché sur l'émergence d'éléments significatifs au cours de l'évolution. Elle offre une vue d'ensemble des mécanismes comportementaux, moléculaires, physiologiques, neuronaux et de développement des xénacélomorphes, cnidaires, céphalopodes et tuniciers. Ce cursus comprend plusieurs cours et ateliers pratiques dans les principales stations de recherche marine d'Europe.

5. Enseignement (90 crédits ECTS)
Cette option est réservée aux futurs enseignantes et enseignants qui ont également besoin de 30 crédits ECTS supplémentaires dans une deuxième discipline d'enseignement. Ce programme combine des cours proposés dans les quatre options ci-dessus, complétés par des cours au choix et des ateliers pratiques sur des thèmes biologiques très divers. Il s'adresse plus particulièrement aux étudiantes et étudiants qui souhaitent avoir une large vision de la biologie. L'intégration dans des équipes de chercheurs offre la possibilité de découvrir concrètement tous les aspects du quotidien d'un scientifique et, ainsi, d'acquérir une solide expérience de la recherche universitaire dans divers domaines: développement et régénération, neurobiologie, biologie cellulaire, biochimie et biologie marine.

Débouchés académiques et professionnels
Le programme de master en sciences moléculaires du vivant et de la santé à 120 crédits ECTS prépare les étudiantes et étudiants à des carrières universitaires ou dans le secteur privé. Les perspectives professionnelles des titulaires de ce master comprennent des postes de chercheuse ou de chercheur dans des entreprises de biotechnologie ou des laboratoires de contrôle de la qualité (industrie pharmaceutique et agroalimentaire), de directrice ou de directeur de laboratoire, de responsable de la biosécurité, de collaboratrice ou de collaborateur scientifique dans divers offices et départements de la Confédération, mais aussi de représentante ou de représentant commercial en biotechnologie, et d'autres emplois relevant de la santé animale et humaine, des sciences de la vie moléculaire et de la biochimie. Ce programme donne également accès au Diplôme d'Enseignement pour les Ecoles de Maturité (DEEM ou LDM). Il s'adresse donc aussi aux futurs enseignantes et enseignants du niveau secondaire II. En résumé, le programme de master en sciences moléculaires du vivant et de la santé donne accès à tous les postes qui requièrent un bagage solide en biologie moléculaire, mais aussi des capacités de communication et d'analyse critique de données scientifiques, sans oublier l'expérience et des compétences pratiques. Ce programme de master ouvre également la voie à des études doctorales (PhD). Dans ce cadre, les doctorantes et doctorants apprennent à mener des recherches indépendantes, sont rémunérés et interagissent avec la communauté scientifique internationale à travers des conférences et des publications. Les études doctorales et postdoctorales constituent le meilleur moyen d'accéder à des postes universitaires et d'encadrement supérieur dans l'industrie, en Suisse comme à l'étranger.
L'option «Enseignement» à 90 crédits ECTS s'adresse spécifiquement aux futurs enseignantes et enseignants du niveau secondaire II. Pour autant, les étudiantes et étudiants seront bien préparés aussi à des carrières universitaires ou autres. Le programme de master en sciences moléculaires du vivant et de la santé avec option «Enseignement» donne également accès à des études doctorales (PhD), mais 30 crédits ECTS supplémentaires peuvent être exigés selon l'institution.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS, 4 semestres
ou
90 crédits ECTS, 3 semestres (option «Enseignement»)

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll

Admission

Les voies d'études master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire délivré par une Haute école universitaire suisse sont admis sans conditions préalables aux études de master s'ils ont acquis, selon les études de master souhaitées, 60 ou 90 crédits ECTS dans la même branche d'études. Des compléments peuvent toutefois être exigés. Le même principe s'applique aux titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, qui ne remplissent pas cette condition peuvent être admis aux études de master avec des conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en master) et/ou des compléments (à accomplir au cours des études de master). Ces prestations d'études ne doivent pas dépasser 60 crédits ECTS au total. Il en va de même des titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor d'une Haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de master demeurent réservées.