Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Business Communication

Abstract

Do you want to learn how to communicate in the interactive, digital world while keeping abreast of a constantly changing business environment? In that case, the master programme in Business Communication was made for you!
This course helps you to understand and anticipate the risks and opportunities of digitalisation, and to master the art of communication in a whole new way. Today, it is not enough to build a message to reach a target audience. You also have to know how to engage and co-construct a relationship with different stakeholders.
By choosing this master programme, you can personalise your degree course by combining one compulsory Communication module with a specialisation in Management, Economics, Ethics and Economics or Business Informatics. Another advantage is that you can complete a bilingual or trilingual curriculum by attending courses in French, German and English.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Description of the programme
The programme consists of two modules.

The objective of module 1 (compulsory) is to examine three aspects of communication in greater depth as part of a study programme focused on companies and organisations. The three aspects are:

  • Strategic communication: Which stakeholder should be addressed first in a communication plan? How do you manage Twitter and Facebook conversations during a crisis? How do you proactively build an online community? How do you communicate sustainability programmes to a sceptical audience? How do you generate social value and ethical consumerism in companies through communication?
  • Digitalisation and use of media: How do you create open-source platforms that allow citizens to get involved in an organisation's strategic decision-making? How has the digital transformation changed user communication? How do you develop a content strategy to create a customer, citizen or employee orientation?
  • Communication in a digital and media context: How do public and political actors communicate? What mobilisation strategies do the different social, economic and media actors develop? What are the different media systems, and what is their role at the societal level? How do you develop a digital advocacy strategy for an organisation or a political or public actor?

The objective of module 2 (optional) is to acquire multidisciplinary skills relating to, for example, human resources, financial management, ethics in development and global change, social computing, etc. This second module is crucial because to communicate in an optimal way, a professional has to be able to understand how an organisation works (option Management), how public policies are negotiated (option Economics), how artificial intelligence works (option Business Informatics) and how a sustainability strategy is developed (option Ethics and Economics).

Fribourg profile
The Department of Communication and Media Research (DCM) at the University of Fribourg is known for its international expertise in the field of business communication.

Thanks to our advanced teaching methods, you have the opportunity to immerse yourself in the world of work with challenges, case studies and multimedia simulations carried out in the classroom, applying the theoretical knowledge you have acquired during your degree course. While studying for your master's degree in Business Communication, you will also have the chance to put your knowledge into practice by learning how to manage web supports (sites, blogs, etc.), lead team projects and scientific research, and also build contacts with companies, especially when writing your thesis.

Our master programme offers you the freedom and flexibility you need: you have numerous options to choose from and can attend most of the courses in the order you wish. In addition, with a wide choice of specialisations available, you can complement your master programme in Business Communication in accordance with your own interests, thereby gaining optimal, additional expertise.

In our programme, we place special emphasis on interactive and innovative teaching methods and excellent mentoring of our students, which includes close collaboration and regular feedback. You also have the opportunity to spend an exchange semester at one of our numerous partner universities abroad.

The master programme in Business Communication consists of courses in French and English. You can also take courses in German. This provides the only opportunity in Switzerland to study this subject bilingually or trilingually (distinction «Bilingual curriculum: French/German» on your diploma, or mention of the languages of study on the diploma: «The candidate completed the programme in French and English» or «The candidate completed the programme in French, German and English»).

Learning outcomes and career prospects
On completing your master's degree in Business Communication, you will be equipped for a position of responsibility in information and communication in a business context. For example, our alumni are communication officers, digital content managers, employer brand specialists, digital marketing managers, consumer data analysts, online community managers, journalists, public diplomacy specialists and brand managers.

The degree course also provides academic prospects, for example as a scientific research worker, and gives you access to doctoral studies. To get an idea of what we do in our department, take a look at the different themes of our research projects.

According to a survey carried out in 2019, 67% of our alumni found a job within three months of completing their studies. By six months after the end of their studies, 87% had found a job. Our alumni hold intermediate (52%), junior (25%), senior (16%) and higher (7%) positions. Their employers are diverse: the Swiss Confederation, Swiss Post, SBB, Philip Morris, Siemens, Swiss Olympic, Ringier, Festi'neuch, etc.

Among our alumni, those who chose the specialisation Management are digital marketing communication managers or digital communication specialists, for example. Those who completed the specialisation Economics tend to work in communication for international organisations, national banks or public administration. Those who completed the specialisation Ethics and Economics work as communication and sustainability managers for companies or public institutions. Lastly, those who completed the specialisation Business Informatics work as data analysis experts in a communication context (e.g. stakeholder monitoring).

To find out more, watch our presentation video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTgafU2YT3s&feature=emb_logo).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credit in a specialisation programme freely chosen, 3 or 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/2GtJ5 (French only)

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Business Communication

Résumé

Vous souhaitez apprendre à communiquer dans un monde numérique et interactif tout en maîtrisant le contexte changeant dans lequel évoluent les entreprises? Alors le master en Business Communication est fait pour vous!
Ce cursus vous aide à comprendre comment anticiper les menaces et opportunités de la digitalisation ainsi qu'à maîtriser la communication de façon renouvelée. A l'heure actuelle, il n'est pas suffisant de construire un message permettant d'atteindre un public cible. Il faut aussi comprendre comment engager et co-construire une relation avec les différentes parties prenantes.
En choisissant ce master, vous pourrez personnaliser votre cursus d'études, en associant un module obligatoire en communication à une spécialisation en management, en économie politique, en éthique et économie politique ou en informatique de gestion. Autre avantage, vous pourrez suivre des cours en français, en allemand et en anglais afin d'accomplir un cursus bilingue ou trilingue.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Description du programme
Le programme est composé de deux modules.

L'objectif du module 1 (obligatoire) est d'approfondir trois aspects de la communication dans le cadre d'un programme d'études orienté vers les entreprises et les organisations. Les trois aspects en question sont:

  • La communication stratégique: quelle partie prenante aborder en premier dans un plan de communication? Comment gérer les conversations sur Twitter et Facebook pendant une crise? Comment construire de manière proactive une communauté en ligne? Comment communiquer sur des programmes de durabilité à un public sceptique? Comment dégager la valeur sociale et le consumérisme éthique dans les entreprises par le biais de la communication?
  • La digitalisation et les usages des médias: comment créer des plateformes open-source qui permettent d'impliquer les citoyens dans la prise de décision stratégique d'une organisation? Comment la transformation numérique a-t-elle changé la communication des utilisateurs? Comment développer une stratégie de contenu afin de forger une orientation-client, orientation-citoyen ou orientation-employé?
  • La communication en contexte numérique et médiatique: Comment communiquent les acteurs publics et politiques? Quelle stratégie de mobilisation développent les différents acteurs sociaux, économiques et médiatiques? Quels sont les systèmes médiatiques et quel est leur rôle au niveau sociétal? Comment développer une stratégie de plaidoyer numérique pour une organisation ou un acteur politique ou public?

L'objectif du module 2 (au choix) est d'acquérir des compétences pluridisciplinaires ayant trait, par exemple, aux ressources humaines, à la gestion financière, à l'éthique dans le développement et dans les changements globaux, au social computing, etc. Ce deuxième module est fondamental car pour communiquer de manière optimale, une professionnelle/un professionnel doit pouvoir comprendre comment fonctionne une organisation (option management), comment se négocient les politiques publiques (option économie politique), comment fonctionne l'intelligence artificielle (option informatique de gestion), comment se développe une stratégie de durabilité (option éthique et économie politique).

Profil fribourgeois
Le Département des Sciences de la Communication et des Médias (DCM) de l'Université de Fribourg est connu pour son expertise internationale dans le domaine de la communication des organisations.

Grâce à nos méthodes d'enseignement avancées, vous aurez la possibilité de vous plonger dans le monde du travail en réalisant des défis, des études de cas et des simulations multimédia effectuées en classe. Cela vous permettra d'appliquer les connaissances théoriques acquises durant votre cursus. Durant vos études de master en Business Communication, vous aurez également l'opportunité de mettre en pratique vos connaissances en apprenant à gérer des supports web (sites, blogs, etc.), à piloter des projets en équipe et des recherches scientifiques ou encore à créer des liens avec des entreprises, en particulier lors du travail individuel de master.

Notre master vous offre la liberté et la flexibilité dont vous avez besoin: vous disposez de nombreuses options et pouvez assister à la plupart des cours dans un ordre défini par vous-même. En outre, un large éventail de spécialisations vous permet de compléter le programme de master en Business Communication en fonction de vos propres intérêts, vous permettant ainsi d'obtenir une qualification supplémentaire optimale.

Dans notre enseignement, nous mettons particulièrement l'accent sur l'aspect interactif et innovant et sur un excellent soutien aux étudiantes et étudiants, ce qui implique une coopération étroite et un retour d'information régulier. Par ailleurs, vous avez également la possibilité d'effectuer un semestre d'échange dans l'une de nos nombreuses universités partenaires à l'étranger.

Le programme de master en Business Communication comprend des cours en français et en anglais. Vous pouvez également suivre des cours en allemand. Cela vous donne l'occasion, unique en Suisse, d'étudier dans deux ou trois langues (diplôme avec la mention «Études bilingues, français/allemand» ou mention des langues d'études sur le diplôme : «Le candidat a accompli le cursus d'études en français et en anglais» ou «Le candidat a accompli le cursus d'études en français, en allemand et en anglais»).

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
À l'issue du master en Business Communication, vous serez à même d'occuper une position à responsabilité dans les domaines de l'information et de la communication en entreprise. Nos anciennes et anciens étudiants sont par exemple chargées/chargés de communication, responsables des contenus numériques, spécialistes de marque employeur, chargées/chargés de marketing numérique, analystes de données des consommateurs, gestionnaires de communauté online, journalistes, spécialistes de diplomatie publique, ou encore gestionnaires de marque.

Cette formation donne également lieu à des débouchés académiques, notamment en tant que collaboratrice/collaborateur scientifique, et permet l'accès aux études doctorales. Afin d'avoir un aperçu de ce qui se fait dans notre département, jetez un œil aux différentes thématiques de nos projets de recherche.

D'après une enquête réalisée en 2019, 67% de nos anciennes et anciens étudiants ont trouvé un emploi dans les 3 mois après la fin de leurs études. 6 mois après le terme de leur cursus, 87% avaient trouvé un emploi. Nos anciennes et anciens étudiants occupent une fonction de type intermédiaire (52%), junior (25%), senior (16%) et supérieur (7%). Leurs employeurs sont divers: Confédération Suisse, La Poste, CFF, Philip Morris, Siemens, Swiss Olympic, Ringier, Festi'neuch, etc.

Parmi nos anciennes et anciens étudiants, celles et ceux qui ont choisi la spécialisation en management exercent le métier de responsable de la communication marketing numérique, ou de spécialiste de la communication numérique, entres autres. Celles et ceux qui ont suivi la spécialisation en économie politique travaillent plutôt dans la communication des organisations internationales, des banques nationales ou l'administration publique. Celles et ceux qui ont suivi la spécialisation en éthique et économie politique travaillent comme responsables de la communication et de la durabilité des entreprises ou des institutions publiques. Enfin, celles et ceux qui ont suivi la spécialisation en informatique de gestion travaillent comme experts dans l'analyse de données dans un contexte de communication (par exemple le monitoring des parties prenantes).

Pour en savoir plus, allez regarder notre vidéo de présentation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTgafU2YT3s&feature=emb_logo

Organisation des études

Structure des études

60 crédits ECTS + 30 crédits ECTS dans un programme de spécialisation au choix, 3 ou 4 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/2GtJ5

Admission

Les voies d'études master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire délivré par une Haute école universitaire suisse sont admis sans conditions préalables aux études de master s'ils ont acquis, selon les études de master souhaitées, 60 ou 90 crédits ECTS dans la même branche d'études. Des compléments peuvent toutefois être exigés. Le même principe s'applique aux titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, qui ne remplissent pas cette condition peuvent être admis aux études de master avec des conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en master) et/ou des compléments (à accomplir au cours des études de master). Ces prestations d'études ne doivent pas dépasser 60 crédits ECTS au total. Il en va de même des titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor d'une Haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de master demeurent réservées.